Sunday, December 30, 2012

Challenge Review: Frostbitten by Kelley Armstrong

Title: Frostbitten
Series: Women of the Otherworld #10
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Genre: Urban Fantasy Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Werewolves, Demons, Shapeshifters, Necromancers
Publisher: Bantam Books, Random House Inc.
Format: Hardcover, 339 Pages
ISBN: 9780553806625
Release Date: September 2009
Source: Borrowed from Wentworth Library
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Being the world’s only female werewolf has its advantages, such as having her pick of the Otherworld’s most desirable males. And Elena Michaels couldn’t have picked a more dangerously sexy and undyingly loyal mate than Clayton Danvers. Now their bond will be put to the ultimate test as they follow a bloody trail of gruesome slayings deep into Alaska’s frozen wilderness.

There’s nothing the werewolf community dislikes more than calling attention to itself. So when a pair of rogue man-eaters begins hunting humans, it’s up to Elena and Clayton to track down the predators. But any illusions their task would be simple are quickly dispelled. For even in werewolf terms, there’s something very disturbing taking place in the dark Alaskan forests. A werewolf more wolf than human and more unnatural than supernatural is on the hunt—a creature whose origins seem to spring from ancient legends of the shape-shifting Wendigo.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, Clayton and Elena find themselves confronting painful ghosts from their pasts — and an issue neither of them is eager to discuss. For one of them has been chosen to become the new Pack leader, and as every wolf knows, there can be only one Alpha. They’ve always been equals in everything. Now, when their survival depends more than ever on perfect teamwork, will instinct allow one of them to lead...and the other to follow?

Review:

Elena Michaels is tracking a young werewolf who ran with two known man-eaters, Liam Malloy and Ramon Santos. She only wants to speak to Reese Williams and warn him about Liam and Ramon's backstabbing tendencies. But with a reputation like hers, Reese isn't going to stop for a chat, so he takes off for Alaska.

Coincidentally, Alaska is where a number of possible wolf kills has taken place, and Jeremy sends Elena and Clay to investigate. With strange wolf behavior, missing friends, mythical shapeshifters, and a pack causing all sorts of trouble, Elena has a lot to handle and she gets a taste of what Alphahood will be like.

The first thing I realized when I read the names Liam and Ramon was that these are the two werewolves that attack Derek and Chloe in the Darkest Powers series. It seems that when they couldn't pin their kills on Reese, they went after a young, not necessarily naive, werewolf.

Being from Minnesota, I was able to really appreciate Elena's remark about the Minneapolis Airport and the Mall of America being traps for the directionally challenged. I've never been in the MSP Airport, but the MOA really is a trap for those who don't know where they are going. I can't even find my own way in that place.

I thought it interesting that Elena may or may not have a familial connection with the Russian Pack. Elena's mother was an Antonov, and there are a few Antonovs in the Russian Pack. It's an old werewolf family in Russia, apparently. Roman Novikov, the Alpha of the Russian Pack, invited Elena, Clay, and Jeremy to Russia to see if there is indeed a connection. I'm really curious about this myself, I would love to know if Elena has family in the Russian Pack. That could possibly help her in the long run when she becomes Alpha of the North American Pack.

One of my favorite moments was when Elena visited Lynn Nygard and saw a painting of herself as a wolf on Lynn's wall. That is way too coincidental that Lynn had a print of one of Jeremy's paintings.

We know Elena's history with her foster fathers and brothers, how they sexually abused her, some even raped her, and that was all brought to the forefront of her memory when she received a letter from one of her foster fathers, asking for forgiveness as part of his therapy. So when she met Travis Tesler for the first time and he tried to rape her (and the numerous times after that first meeting) she was brought back to that little girl who just tried to hide from it all. But Elena, being who she is now, was finally able to fight back. Elena is probably my favorite character in this series, and the strength she showed in Frostbitten just reinforced that.

Then there is the Stillwell family. They were former members of the Pack, but left and moved to Alaska when the Alpha ascension was taking place. Dennis still kept in contact with Jeremy, though, but hasn't made contact when he said he would. This is another thing Jeremy asked Elena and Clay to check out. I don't want to say too much about them, because they play a big part in the Tesler takeover, but in the end the Pack gains a new member from this family. Plus two more possible members if Reese Williams decides to stay, and if Morgan Walsh decides to head south after his experiment in Alaska.

With a mythological shapeshifter race (which one it is, I won't tell) and a rogue werewolf pack close to waging war in the Alaskan Wilderness, Elena must act as mediator and take matters into her own hands before more innocent humans are killed. This is all definitely a great way to get Elena ready to be Alpha.

"So, what do you think of your pack?"

About this Author:

Kelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers' dismay. All efforts to make her produce "normal" stories failed.

Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts and demons and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She's the author of the NYT-bestselling "Women of the Otherworld" paranormal suspense series and "Darkest Powers" young adult urban fantasy trilogy, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. Armstrong lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.







PART OF....
 

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Challenge Review: Living with the Dead by Kelley Armstrong

Title: Living with the Dead
Series: Women of the Otherworld #9
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Genre: Urban Fantasy Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Psychic Abilities, Demons, Werewolves, Necromancers, Witches, Sorcerers, Ghosts, Angels
Publisher: Bantam Books, Randoms House Inc.
Format: Hardcover, 372 Pages
ISBN: 9780553806649
Release Date: November 2008
Source: Borrowed from Wentworth Library
Rating: 4/5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback 

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Robyn Peltier moved to Los Angeles after her young husband's sudden death, trying to put some distance between herself and her memories. Though she's still grieving, the challenges of her new life as the PR consultant to Portia Kane--the world's most famous celebutante wannabe--can sometimes be amusing, even distracting. But when her client is gunned down in the back room of a nightclub, Robyn is suddenly on the run as the prime suspect in the murder. And as more bodies pile up around her, it seems like only Hope Adams, Robyn's best friends, and Hope's somewhat spooky boyfriend Karl are on Robyn's side.

Hope Adams follows the kinds of stories whose headlines scream from supermarket checkout lines. But the difference is that Hope's stories are even weirder--and they're all true. Though determined to help Robyn, Hope knows it's only a matter of time before her best friend is caught. But it's not the police Hope is worried about. For Robyn has gotten herself  in the middle of a turf war between two powerful Otherworld cabals who'll spill any amount of blood--human and inhuman--to protect what they consider theirs for all eternity. And the only way Hope can keep her friend alive is by letting her enter a world she's safer knowing nothing about.

Review:

Robyn Peltier took a PR job representing Portia Kane in an attempt to leave the painful memories of her husband's untimely death behind. With help from her best friend, Hope Adams, Robyn is slowly getting back to herself. But when a clairvoyant paparazzo kills Portia for a photo she took on her cell phone, Robyn is accused of the murder and ends up on the run from the police--and the killer.

Adele Morrissey is a clairvoyant and a member of the Kumpania. The Kumpania strongly dissuades interaction with the Cabals, so when Adele discovers that Portia Kane has a photo with Adele meeting with Irving Nast in the background, she'll do anything to get that photo before anyone in the Kumpania can see it. Adele is ruthless--she kills anyone who gets in her way, and she uses and sabotages anyone to get what she wants. I didn't like Adele at all. I think she may be one of the worst villians in the Woman of the Otherworld series so far.

It was pretty funny how everyone thought that Robyn was a supernatural, just because she's friends with Hope. They're all asking, What kind of supernatural is she? Like, is it so inconceivable for a human and supernatural to be friends?

Just like in Haunted with the reference to Eliot Ness and the Untouchables, Living with the Dead has a reference to the policeman in The Fugitive who would not give up trying to capture Richard Kimble. That's who Damon compares Finn to, because of his relentless pursuit of Robyn.

Detective Finn is a necromancer who didn't know he was a "necromancer." Though he's a supernatural, he didn't know anything about that world until this case. Finn has help from Robyn's dead husband, Damon, with the case. He even gets a visit from Eve at one point. Finn was one of my favorite characters in Living with the Dead. I hope we get to see more of him in future books.

Hope and Karl appear in Living with the Dead. Aside from trying to help clear Robyn's name, we get to see how their relationship has developed. With Karl's birthday and their first anniversary approaching, Hope still fears that Karl will leave her, and she also fears how dependent she has become of him. When Hope receives a business proposal from Rhys, a clairvoyant mercenary, she knows she has a tough decision to make--and she has to make it herself. I really liked Karl's show of commitment. The infinity symbol charm for Hope's bracelet, with the engraving "No matter what" was so sweet. I love seeing that side of Karl. What I really want to know is if they ever made it to that cabin in the woods, LOL!

About this Author:

Kelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers' dismay. All efforts to make her produce "normal" stories failed.

Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts and demons and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She's the author of the NYT-bestselling "Women of the Otherworld" paranormal suspense series and "Darkest Powers" young adult urban fantasy trilogy, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. Armstrong lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.








PART OF....

Giveaway Winner: River's Recruit


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Congratulations to bn100. for winning a River's Recruit eBook!

Be sure to contact me at bibliophilesthoughtsonbooks@hotmail.com with your email and I'll pass it along to the tour host!

#WWReadathon: Wicked Valentine's Read-A-Thon {Sign Up}

The Wicked Valentine's Read-A-Thon is hosted by April and Rebecca @ My Shelf Confessions!!


The Wicked Valentine’s Read-A-Thon is a time when we all get together to dedicate the days of February 7-14 to as much reading as possible. You read as much as you can in order to get yourself a little further through that huge to-read pile! We know real life gets in the way and even if you can’t participate more than one day, you’re welcome to join in on the fun!

In the meanwhile, we will be hosting book-related challenges where you can win some awesome prizes and have a Twitter party at the hashtag #WWReadathon! You can posts updates on your blog, Twitter, Goodreads or Facebook — as long as the profile is public and we all can enjoy your reading progress!

Tour Review: His Black Wings by Astrid Yrigollen

Title: His Black Wings
Author: Astrid Yrigollen
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
Publisher:
Format: PDF, 364 Pages
ISBN: 9781300298533
Release Date: November 7, 2012
Source: Tour Host {YA Novel Reader Book Tours}
Rating:

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Claren Maidstone has been forced to flee her childhood home after the death of her parents and a vicious assault from a sadistic young man who intends to marry her. Claren changes her identity and finds employment as an assistant to the handsome Fredrick Lowood, a generous yet mysterious benefactor. However, she soon finds out his generosity comes at a price. Fredrick wishes for Claren to befriend his disfigured son who resides in seclusion at their estate, Westwind.

Fredrick Lowood knows what the history books do not teach, that the Grand Council built this new world of peace and beauty on hidden blood and greed. He has plotted for years to bring down the family that enslaved his own people. Suddenly, he has the last living heir in his grasp.

Etrigan Lowood rejects the world that forces him to hide. He is powerful, plagued with a terrible dark beauty: WINGS. It is these wings that carry him out only at night to watch the unwanted intruder in his home. A creature of refined instinct yet little social grace, he is strangely captivated by Claren but knows nothing of how her family’s dark past is intertwined with his own . Through their blossoming friendship, Etrigan realizes he still retains his human heart and yearns for Claren’s love.

Kurten Wandsworth is the only son of the Mayor of St.Marhen. Kurten lives his life fueled by cruelty and lust. Whatever he wants he takes and he wants Claren to be his wife even it if kills her. Scarred by Claren he hunts her down mercilessly until he can set a trap which she will never be able to escape from.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Native of California , Astrid Yrigollen was born in the Bay area.She began writing in elementary school. After working in a funeral home during high school, she transferred her love of writing to story boarding video games that she created on her Mac Classic.

Programming,creating graphics and audio files, she was a one girl video game company. Her games were featured with Shareware magazines.

In the early 90's she secured a position with Video game company Sega of America but never lost her love for writing.After leaving the video game industry she became a boutique fashion designer, successfully placing her designs in boutiques in Europe, the U.S, and Australia.

With a deep love and respect for animal life, she has kept many furry family members and has been a volunteer at the local Humane Society, even working briefly as a Vet Assistant until she found out that the sight of blood makes her pass out.

She now enjoys writing full time as well as studying her third spoken language, Japanese.


PART OF....

Friday, December 28, 2012

Tour Review: Lightning by Taryn Kincaid (Giveaway)

Title: Lightning
Series: 1Night Stand / Sleepy Hollow #1
Author: Taryn Kincaid
Genre: Erotic Romance, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Succubi, Incubi
Publisher: Decedent Publishing
Format: PDF, 44 Pages
ISBN: 9781613333976
Release Date: October 17, 2012
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: 3.5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: In mystic Sleepy Hollow, succubus Lily Night put her prom date, Campbell Jones, into a coma after a night of wild, unbridled sex. She has steered clear of mortals ever since, afraid of damaging them or worse, not to mention the inconvenience of knocking out the power every time they have sex.

Successful architect Campbell Jones has lived with strange powers and a sexy secret since that prom night. He’s buried himself in work to forget the woman who’d dumped him at the ER then vanished from his life without a trace.

Neither Lily nor Campbell have forgotten that night or the love they’d shared. Will a 1Night Stand help them bury their past?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Multi-published author of HEALING HEARTS, a sensual Regency romance from Carina Press; SLEEPY HOLLOW DREAMS, an erotic paranormal from The Wild Rose Press; LIGHTNING and THUNDER, both erotic paranormals for Decadent Publishing's 1Night Stand series.

A former award-winning newspaper reporter and columnist, Taryn currently slaves away in the booby-trapped field of law, escaping into the delicious world of romance every chance she gets. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Hudson Valley RWA, RWA’s Beau Monde chapter, RWA’s Fantasy, Futuristic & Paranormal chapter, and RWA’s Electronic & Small Press Authors Network.

She lives in the historical Hudson River valley region outside of New York City, where the shopping is fabulous, the scenery is awesome, and things can very often be relied upon to go bump in the night.

Taryn loves to hear from you! Find her on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and her author page at Amazon.com.  Check out the CONTACT page to email her and feel free to leave comments on the BLOG.


GIVEAWAY:  
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....
 

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Tour Review: Savagery by Emma MacKenzie (Giveaway)

Title: Savagery
Author: Emma MacKenzie
Genre: Historical Fiction, Erotic Romance
Publisher:
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00AP7Z27Y
Release Date: December 15, 2012
Source: Tour Host {SupaGurl Book Tours}
Rating: 

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: In 10th century France, 18-year old Cherine Cadet only knows one thing: that the life of a peasant isn't a life at all. Tired of working in utter poverty for an unfeeling Lord, with only her indifferent family and love-struck best friend as company, Cherine dreams of the day she can run away from the future set-up for her, even if she knows there's no real escape from her destiny.

Then, in one brutal instance, everything changes. A Viking fleet led by the powerful nobleman and warrior, Rolf the Walker and his right-hand man, Erik the Axe, arrive on the shores of the Lord's estate. In minutes, the entire land is up in flames, Cherine's family and fellow serfs are killed, and Cherine comes dangerously close to death herself. She is saved only by the fierce Erik - but a new lease on life comes with a cost.

Cherine becomes a slave to the Vikings, a fate she thinks is no better than the one she had before. But as she finds herself being shared between the two men, the savage and darkly handsome Rolf and the mysterious and sensual Erik, Cherine discovers that she too has a fiery warrior heart and that the flames that consumed her old life might burn them all to the ground.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Though she tries hard to hide it, Emma MacKenzie got her start in writing by penning cheesy romantic comedy screenplays. Despite having seven published novels under her garter belt, this is her first foray into erotic romance. Considering how big of a pervert she is, it probably won’t be her last.

She is a fan of red hair, stuffed animals, nori seaweed, and coffee, as well as things she used to hate as a child, including beer, naps and being spanked. When she’s not trying to tone down her purple prose, you can find her nose-deep in a book.

Links: http://emmamackenziewrites.wordpress.com/




GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Saturday, December 22, 2012

2013 YA Mythology Reading Challenge {Sign Up}

The 2013 YA Mythology Reading Challenge is hosted by Tiffany @ For Those About to Read...!!
 
 
The challenge is to read 10 YA or Middle grade novels that incorporate any type of Mythology in the story line (Greek, Egyptian, Norse, etc.).
 
• The challenge will run from January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2013.
• You can join anytime by adding your name to the linky list below
• Books must be read in 2013
• If you are a blogger, please write a sign-up post that links back to this challenge page (Please use the image above in the post).
• If you are not a blogger, just leave a link to your account on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, LibrayThing, etc.
 
Not sure what to read? Check out the YA Mythology Challenge Goodreads List!
 
 

Tour Review: River's Recruit by Charlotte Abel (Giveaway)

Title: River's Recruit
Series: Sanctuary #1
Author: Charlotte Abel
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Shapeshifters
Publisher: CreateSpace
Format: PDF, 195 Pages
ASIN: B00A6JI9D0
Release Date: November 12, 2012
Source: Tour Host {SupaGurl Book Tours}
Rating: 

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Jonathan McKnight lost everything in Afghanistan. His left hand, his identical twin, his self-respect and his naive belief that good always triumphs over evil. Burdened by grief and guilt, he searches for redemption on a solo backpacking trip into the remote Sawatch Mountains of Colorado and discovers a secret tribe of shifters.

River, the beautiful young shifter that rescues Jonathan has been promised to a man she despises. A man that does not desire her and only wants to use her to achieve his own political goals. Jonathan is more than a romantic rival. He’s a threat to those goals.

The only way to save Jonathan’s life is for River to take him as her recruit.

As Jonathan learns more about the horrors of River’s cult-like society, he becomes even more determined to escape it, until he learns that River is responsible for everything he does and will be executed if he succeeds.

Escape is not an option—unless Jonathan can persuade River to leave with him. And if she refuses? Well, then, he’ll just have to kidnap her.

Review: 

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Charlotte Abel was born and raised in Oklahoma where she met her soulmate, Pete. She chased him to Boulder, Colorado and finally convinced him they were meant to be together forever. They've raised three kids, two ferrets, three dogs and countless hamsters -- and are still happily married.

She's in love with "real" life and paranormal romance. When she's not reading or writing, Charlotte enjoys hiking, bicycling and primitive archery (although she's never shot at anything other than a target!)

The final book of The Channie Series, "Finding Valor," should be available by Christmas.

Links:

http://charlotteabel.blogspot.com
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4962823.Charlotte_Abel
https://twitter.com/charlotte_abel

 
GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Friday, December 21, 2012

Tour Review: Mia's Heart by Courtney Cole (Giveaway)

Title: Mia's Heart
Series: The Paradise Diaries #2
Author: Courtney Cole
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Lakehouse Press
Format: PDF,  Pages
ASIN: B00A6YW4BI
Release Date: December 1, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Kismet Book Tours}
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: My name is Mia Giannis.
I am seventeen years old.
I live in Valese, Caberra.

This has become my mantra and my lifeline, having recently lost my memory due to a scary natural disaster. Yeah. I have amnesia. Messed up, right?

You don't know the half of it.

Not remembering anything has turned my world upside down. My parents try their hardest to “remind” me of who I was, but it doesn't feel right. Or, if what they're saying is true and that really was me, I'm not sure I like that person very much.

And then there’s my love life. Apparently, Gavin Ariastasis is my oldest and best friend in the world. Also, apparently, we’ve never dated. But now, noticing him for what feels like the first time, he’s making my heart do somersaults. He knows me inside and out—the real me. Plus, he’s sexy and charming as hell. Sounds perfect, right?

But then... there’s the new guy. Quinn McKeyen – tall, gorgeous and deliciously American. His mischievous grin and slow Midwestern drawl turn my insides to mush in two seconds flat making me question who I really am and what I really want.

Seriously. What am I supposed to do with all that?! I feel torn between them, but I barely even know who I am, let alone what I want.

I just hope my indecisive heart will clue me in. And sooner rather than later…before I lose what little of my mind that I have left.

Review:

Mia Giannis is always fighting with her mother about her clothes, her actions, her friends, just about everything and how it could reflect on her father. Being the daughter of the Secretary of Defense of Caberra has a lot of expectations, when Mia just wants to be herself, not who her parents want her to be.

When a devastating earthquake rocks Caberra, Mia rushes home looking for her mother and finds her house reduced to rubble. Determined to find her mother within the wreckage, Mia along with Gavin and Quinn, search what's left of the house. While in the remains of her bedroom, another aftershock rocks the house and a piece of debris hits Mia on the head, resulting in her having amnesia.

Now Mia must navigate truths and deceptions to know what is real. This is a time for Mia to find who she really is and who her heart truly wants.

Mia's relationship with her mother is NOT very good in the beginning of the book. The earthquake and Mia's amnesia are what change their relationship for the better, with her father too. What I didn't like was how her parents used her amnesia to make her into the daughter they want her to be. Going so far as to dye her hair back to its natural color and removing her nose ring while she's unconscious in the hospital. I mean, who does that? It's just so wrong.

The two love interests are Mia's childhood friend, Gavin Ariastasis and Reece's childhood friends from Kansas, Quinn McKeyen. Mia loves them both, but for different reasons. But she has trouble figuring out what her heart wants, when she doesn't even really know herself yet.

I noticed that the pool at the Old Palace is a popular place to cry ones heart out. First it was Reece when she saw Elena and Dante together, then Mia after she talks to Gavin when he walked out of the ballroom after seeing Mia and Quinn dancing and the look she was giving him. It's like a Pool of Sorrow or something.

I loved reading Mia's story and it was great seeing Reece and Dante again. I can't wait for the next book!

About this Author:

Courtney Cole is a novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could.

She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds.

Every Last Kiss is her debut novel and she followed it with the rest of The Bloodstone Saga (Every Last Kiss, Fated, With My Last Breath and My Tattered Bonds).

Courtney lives in quiet suburbia, close to Lake Michigan, with her real-life Prince Charming, her ornery kids (there is a small chance that they get their orneriness from their mother) and a small domestic zoo.

Learn more about Courtney and her books at www.courtneycolewrites.com

https://twitter.com/courtwritesYA
https://www.facebook.com/courtneycolewrites
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Courtney-Cole-Author/172246529496995?sk=wall
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3112212.Courtney_Cole


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Review: The Scourge by A.G. Henley (Giveaway)

Title: The Scourge
Series: The Scourge #1
Author: A.G. Henley
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
Elements: Zombies
Publisher:
Format: PDF, 142 Pages
ASIN: B0073O59OI
Release Date: January 31, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Kismet Book Tours}
Rating: 

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Groundling, Fennel, is Sightless. She's never been able to see her lush forest home, but she knows its secrets. She knows how the shadows shift when she passes under a canopy of trees. She knows how to hide in the cool, damp caves when the Scourge comes. She knows how devious and arrogant the Groundlings' tree-dwelling neighbors, the Lofties, can be.

And she's always known this day would come—the day she faces the Scourge alone.

The Sightless, like Fenn, are mysteriously protected from the Scourge, the gruesome creatures roaming the forests, reeking of festering flesh and consuming anything—and anyone—living. A Sightless Groundling must brave the Scourge and bring fresh water to the people of the forest. Today, that task becomes Fenn's.

Fenn will have a Lofty Keeper, Peree, as her companion. Everyone knows the Lofties wouldn’t hesitate to shoot an arrow through the back of an unsuspecting Groundling like Fenn, but Peree seems different. A boy with warm, rough hands who smells like summer, he is surprisingly kind and thoughtful. Although Fenn knows his people are treacherous, she finds herself wanting to trust him.

As their forest community teeters on the brink of war, Fenn and Peree must learn to work together to survive the Scourge and ensure their people’s survival. But when Fenn uncovers a secret that shatters her truths, she’s forced to decide who and what to protect—her people, her growing love for Peree, or the elusive dream of lasting peace in the forest.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

A.G. Henley is the author of the young adult novel, THE SCOURGE. She is also a clinical psychologist, which means people either tell her their life stories on airplanes, or avoid her at parties when they've had too much to drink. Neither of which she minds. When she's not writing fiction or shrinking heads, she can be found herding her children and their scruffy dog, Guapo, to various activities while trying to remember whatever she's inevitably forgotten to tell her husband. She lives in Denver, Colorado.

http://www.aghenley.com/
https://twitter.com/AG_Henley
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAGHenley
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5622429.A_G_Henley



GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

2013 Jeaniene Frost Reading Challenge {Sign Up}

The 2013 Jeaniene Frost Reading Challenge is hosted by Ella @ A World of Words!!

Challenge Guidelines:
**Challenge runs from January 1, 2013 to December 28, 2013**


*Anyone can join this challenge! You do not have to be a blogger! As long as you have a Goodreads or an Amazon or some kind of account where you can post the reviews on!

*Please make a sign up post! Be sure to use the direct link of your sign up post on the linky list below! If you do not have a blog to make a post, then you are welcome to comment below with your name, e-mail address, and a list of Jeaniene's books that you are planning to read, as well as the level that you plan on aiming for! 

*Sign Ups will be open for the entire year of 2013, so feel free to join us whenever you like! (: 

*Re-reads are allowed! If you have already read this series, then you are allowed to re-read the books and post up your thoughts on the book! Such as, did you catch anything the second time (or whatever time you're reading it) that you didn't catch the previous time? Any feels? Stuff like that!

*Any book of Jeaniene Frost's will count for this challenge! There are currently 6 full length books of The Night Huntress Series, 6 ebook novellas, and 2 spin off series (If I counted that right).  There will be books releasing out in the middle of this challenge, so you may choose to read them or not, it is not required! They will count though (:

*You may list your books in a wrap up post at the end of that particular month, or you may list them on your sign up post! The books you list now, doesn't mean you are stuck with them for the rest of the challenge, you may change them as you please!

*If you miss the wrap-up post, you can post your reviews on the next wrap up post, which will be every two months! 

*Every two months there will be a sort of discussion post, that you may or may not join! You will get an extra entry if you do participate (if we do end up doing giveaways)!


Levels:

Level 1: 1-3 books-Freshly Bitten
You have been freshly bitten by Jeaniene's vampires/demons or other creatures! You have at least read one or more books and you want more!

Level 2: 4-7 books- The Walking Dead
You have read at least 4 or more of Jeaniene's books and you can't seem to put them down! You even say to yourself, "Screw sleep!" Well congratulations, you have become one of the walking dead!

Level 3: 8-11 books- Master Vampire and Ruler of your own line

Level 4: All of Jeaniene's Books- Notorious Supernatural Expert
You have read all of Jeaniene's books that are currently out right now and you can't wait for the next one in the series! You are officially a notorious supernatural expert and one of Jeaniene's biggest fans! 


Sign-Ups Here


**I will start with Level 1: 1-3 Books**

Tour Review: The Burning of Isobel Key by Jen McConnel (Excerpt+Giveaway)

Title: The Burning of Isobel Key
Author: Jen McConnel
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements:
Publisher: BrightFish Press
Format: PDF, 286 Pages
ISBN: 9780615684680
Release Date: September 14, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Reading Addiction Book Tours}
Rating: 

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Lou is in the middle of a quarter-life crisis. Ever since college, she’s lacked direction, working as a clerk in a local bookstore. But when she quits her job just before the winter holidays, Lou must do some serious soul searching to overcome her fears of straying from the mainstream. On a whim, she accompanies her best friend, Tammy, to Scotland for the winter holidays, but the vacation soon turns into an emotional roller coaster.

When she becomes embroiled in a hunt for information about Isobel Key, a woman falsely accused of witchcraft in the seventeenth century, Lou opens up to her intuition and makes a startling discovery about her own heritage.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

Excerpt:

As the flames rose, Isobel stopped cursing and instead started to make a shrill, screaming whine, much like the sound of the sap boiling in the logs at her feet.  It was so eerie, so utterly un-human that even the executioner, a man long seasoned to the sounds of death, wanted to cover his ears and sob into the skirt of the nearest woman. 
     The sound carried from the village green, through the streets and wynds, penetrating the windows and doors shut tight against the execution.  It was as if not attending could erase the sin of allowing it to happen in the first place.  No one who heard that sound could reconcile it with the once melodious voice of the burning woman.  The evil thing at the stake was not a woman they remembered or recognized.
     Their memories were as short as the day, from the morning after her terrible deeds were revealed and the witch was brought into town bound in the back of a pony cart.  It was suddenly as if none of the villagers knew the poor creature at all.  None could recall seeking her help, and none would avow that she had always been kind and ready to bake breads for town feasts or to watch the little ones play while their parents danced together.  Kindness lingers less than murder, for it was obvious to all that the woman had murdered at least three souls, if not countless others.  Justice was being served, and her blood would not stain the god fearing hands in St. Andrews.  She was not their responsibility, and they wanted to take no claim for her evil.

About this Author:

Jen McConnel first began writing poetry as a child. Since then, her words have appeared in a variety of magazines and journals, including Sagewoman, PanGaia, and The Storyteller (where she won the people’s choice 3rd place award for her poem, “Luna”).

She is also an active reviewer for Voices of Youth Advocates (VOYA), and proud member of SCBWI, NCWN, and SCWW.

A Michigander by birth, she now lives and writes in the beautiful state of North Carolina. When she isn't crafting worlds of fiction, she teaches writing composition at a community college. Once upon a time, she was a middle school teacher, a librarian, and a bookseller, but those are stories for another time.

Follow Jen on Twitter @ProDeaWriter

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#WintersRespite: A Winter's Respite Read-A-Thon {Sign Up}

The A Winter's Respite Read-A-Thon is hosted by Michelle @ The True Book Addict @ Seasons of Reading!!


It's here! The official sign up for A Winter's Respite Read-a-Thon! It's just a month away on January 21 - 27! It will start at 12:00am Monday and end at 11:59pm on Sunday.  Times are central standard time so adjust your times accordingly.

Of course, like most read-a-thons, the books read must be novels or novellas, adult or young adult are fine, and you can read children's books too (as long as you do read some novels too).

You DO NOT have to participate the entire week.  Join in when you can, start in the middle, end early...whatever works best for your schedule.  As long as you sign in at the sign-in post and do some kind of wrap up post, you're in for the big giveaway at the end.

Our twitter hashtag is #WintersRespite

Tour Review: Friends with Benefits by Jennifer Labelle (Giveaway)

Title: Friends with Benefits
Series: The Edge
Author: Jennifer Labella
Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Format: PDF, 22 Pages
ASIN: B009LBOBRW
Release Date: October 5, 2012
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: 3/5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Collin Harrison is loving life as a bachelor, but can’t convince his meddling mother to back off. To make matters worse, he’s confused by his attraction to his new neighbor, Devin. But Collin has never been with a man before.

Devin Hardy is no stranger to fulfilling his intimate desires—desires which include his hot neighbor. Good things come to those who wait, but Devin is getting tired of waiting to turn their friendship into one with scorching hot benefits.

Review:

This was my first time reading a m/m story and I thought the story itself was great, but maybe just not my thing. I usually need a female character in a story to really get into it, and there wasn't one in Friends with Benefits (and I don't count Collin's mother, that would just be kind of weird).

I think I would have liked it a bit better if there had been a little more background, like when Collin and Devin first met or something.

Please note that this is just my opinion. While it didn't really appeal to me, it might to others who like m/m stories.

About this Author:

Jennifer Labelle resides in Ottawa, Ontario Canada with her husband and three beautiful children. After her third child she became a stay at home mom. In her busy household Jennifer likes to spend her down time engrossed in the stories that she creates. She is an active reader of romance (especially historical), mystery and anything paranormal. With an education in Addictions work she's decided to take a less stressful approach in life and hopes that you enjoy, as she shares some of her imagination with all of you.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads |


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....
 

Monday, December 17, 2012

#BoutofBooks: Bout of Books 6.0 Read-A-Thon {Sign Up}

 
The Bout of Books Read-a-Thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal!

It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.  
For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

Now. To be officially signed up, you must fill out the form here!

Tour Review: High Above by Mari Freeman (Giveaway)

Title: High Above
Series: Out of the Ash #1
Author: Mari Freeman
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Dragons
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Format: PDF, 78 Pages
ASIN: B004SIRLPW
Release Date: September 5, 2012
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: 4.5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Dragons annihilated civilization some ten generations ago. A few Crossbreeds, humans born with dragon-like characteristics, now lead opposing tribes who still battle for dwindling resources.

Rhone’s wings have been stripped from his body, his family killed, and his hopes of leading the Mountain people away from the constant threat of marauders destroyed.

Ketta’s life has been full of pain and anguish. Her brother rules her and the Lax tribe with a bloody fist. Tired of the violence, Ketta takes a stand and rescues Rhone from the brink of execution.

Armed with knowledge from Ketta’s somewhat addled grandfather, the unlikely pair embarks on a quest to heal Rhone’s wings. Along the way, the couple struggles to find the truth beneath hatred and lies. Desire and a mutual enemy bring them together; mistrust and secrets tear them apart. These lifelong foes will have to fly high above their differences to defeat a deadly dragon and save what’s left of both their tribes.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

Excerpt: 

She was right. He could barely fight a strong all-human in his current condition. But waking a dragon? Really? He sank to his knees. She knelt in front of him, her expression much softer, like a mythical creature from a long ago dream. It wasn’t a premeditated decision, but he leaned forward, closing the space between them and brushed his lips across hers. She rocked back slightly, her ears turned forward; her gorgeous eyes concentrated on him.

He took her lips again, ensuring the contact was more than a light brush. She responded, closing the distance between them. His skin tingled when she put her hands on his shoulders. Rhone cradled her face, turning her head at a slight angle that gave him the most exposure to her. 

They didn’t have time for desire. But, he might never have another chance to touch her. He wanted to feel her satiny skin, to savor her sweetness for just a moment. Her lips parted for him, and he explored her mouth. She tasted like the freshest water. His body reacted immediately to her unusual, primitive smell. 

She pulled away and backed to the other side of the truck, shaking her head. “You must decide.”

“I’m sorry,” he said. 

Ketta put a hand up. “It’s natural. My scent calls to males. That’s why Nyx kept me separated from everyone.” 

“It’s not just your scent.” He saw more in her than a breeding partner. But, that didn’t really matter either.

She scowled. “You have to decide now, Rhone. There’s no time. Will you give your people, both our tribes, a chance?” 

By listening to the princess of the enemy tribe and waking a dragon? He couldn’t believe he was even considering it. “What am I supposed to do with the dragon once she’s awake? We’ve not considered that, have we?”

About this Author:

Life Changes. Mine sure has. I’m an exotic adventurer disguised as a normal suburbanite in central North Carolina.

My favorite things include: cats, great food, exercise, wine, great movies and books.

In my previous lives, I’ve held an interesting array of occupations. I’ve been a project manager, used cars salesperson, a software testing manager, pumped gas at a truck stop and I worked in a morgue. I hold a degree in Forensic Anthropology from THE Ohio State University.

My favorite stories include alpha females in love with even more alpha males. I find the clash of passionate, strong willed personalities fascinating. I write contemporary, paranormal, and a little science fiction/fantasy.

Website | Twitter: @marifreeman | Facebook


GIVEAWAY:  
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Poison Princess Read Along

 The Poison Princess Read Along is hosted by Book Twirps as their January read along!


How does it work?
  • Each month we will post approximately 6 books to choose from. Participants will get to vote for two books. The book with the most votes win. In the case of a tie, we will post another poll for the two books. If there’s still a tie, the host(s) will choose.
  • We will post the selected book at least a week before the read-along starts so you have time to purchase, borrow, or check the book out of the library.
  • A few days before the first of the month, we will post a reading schedule for each week. (Feel free to read ahead, just don’t spoil anything for the rest of us).
  • We will post a set of discussion questions each week. Please join in and let us know your thoughts.
  • If you are a blogger, feel free to post the discussion on your blog as well. The more the merrier.
Rules:
  • Respect everyone’s opinion. Reading is subjective and what one person finds brilliant, another person may hate.
  • No spoilers if you read ahead.
  • Have fun!

Poison Princess Synopsis:

She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side…

PoisonPrincessButton

Tour Review: Power Play by Emily Cale (Giveaway)

Title: Power Play
Series: 1Night Stand , Hat Trick Trilogy #2
Author: Emily Cale
Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Format: PDF, 37 Pages
ASIN: B0093TFS5Q
Release Date: August 29, 2012
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating:

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Natalie Fritz didn't need a night of sexual adventure as payment for setting her friend up, but she wouldn't turn it down either. Determined to make sure she gets exactly what she wants, she makes a call to Madame Eve and requests not one, but two dates for the evening. What she doesn't expect is for those men to be players on her friend's hockey team.

Ian and Todd find that sharing women provides all parties with more pleasure. Finding someone who buys into their theory is a little harder. So they turn to Madame Eve's 1 Night Stand service to find them a partner. When they meet Natalie, they discover a gorgeous woman who turns them on physically and intellectually.

Everyone knows that relationships are meant to be between two people, but what happens when it takes three to make the night worthwhile? Can they take a leap of faith or will their time be limited to one night?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM. 

Excerpt:

"I've spent enough time around hockey players to know that they aren't the kind of guys that I want to waste my time with." She stared the two of them down, her eyes fixed and unyielding.
"And how is it that you've spent so much time around us that you know how all of us behave?" He knew some of his teammates could be real assholes, but he hated to think that their reputation could ruin this night for Todd and him. Especially after he'd spent most of practice sporting a hard on from fantasizing about the evening. They weren't allowed to ruin this for him.
"Scott's your friend that you set up with this service, right?" She started pacing.
Todd and Ian both nodded.
"Well, TJ is my best friend that I set up." She stopped and turned toward them.
For once, he actually felt speechless. That explained why she looked familiar to him. Now that he could place her, he remembered seeing her hanging around the rink after practice and before games. His brain sifted through the new information while Todd picked up the conversation.
"Look, I get it. You've met a few players who were complete jerks." She snorted and covered her mouth. Tempted to respond to her display, he bit the inside of his cheek and let his friend continue talking. "You asked for a certain experience tonight though. If we leave, you aren't going to get that. Who knows when you'll be able to find a couple of other guys willing to provide it."

About this Author:

Emily Cale spent the majority of her childhood as a visitor to the worlds of her favorite authors. With encouragement from her English teachers, she put pen to paper and began imagining her own stories. Preferring the fascinating lives of her characters, she majored in creative writing. When not lost in a manuscript or a good book, she enjoys crocheting, rock climbing, and playing board games. She currently lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, with her husband and a very spoiled cat.


GIVEAWAY:  
a Rafflecopter giveaway
PART OF....

Friday, December 14, 2012

Tour Review: Veer by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Title: Veer
Series: Clayton Falls #2
Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher:
Format: PDF (ARC), 120 Pages
ASIN: B00ADRU9NS
Release Date: November 25, 2012
Source: Tour Host {SupaGurl Book Tours}
Rating:

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): Only when you let go can you learn to live.

Summary: Between the death of her mother and pushing through law school without her best friend, it's been a tough year for Becca. Needing a break from Boston, she moves to a tiny coastal North Carolina town for a relaxing summer. After bumping heads repeatedly with a local cop, she realizes her summer will be anything but quiet.

Three years after a career ending injury ruins his chance to play Major League Baseball, Gavin has a distrust of northerners and lately girls in general. He wants nothing to do with a girl who is only in town for the summer.

When the two give in to their impossible attraction, they realize that they may just have found the key to freeing themselves from the ghosts of their pasts.

Review: 

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Alyssa Rose Ivy is a Young Adult and New Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

Alyssa Rose Ivy | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads



PART OF....