Friday, May 10, 2013

Tour Review: Memory's Wake by Selina Fenech (Giveaway)

Title: Memory's Wake
Series: Memory's Wake Trilogy #1
Author: Selina Fenech
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements:
Publisher: Fairies and Fantasy Pty Ltd
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B005502KA8
Release Date: June 7, 2011
Source: Amazon.com
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Lost in a world full of monstrous fairies, a troubled sixteen year old has to find out who she is and why her memories were stolen before she is found by those who want her dead.

She takes the name "Memory" and knows she has just one goal - to find her way home, wherever that is. But this land is strange. No technology to be seen, and iron is banned, thanks to a pact the humans have with the magical creatures who share their pre-industrial era world. In her t-shirt and torn jeans, Memory knows she's different, even before she performs impossible magic. 

Haunted by her past, chased by a dragon, wanted by the king and stalked by the strange, handsome savage that seems to know her, everyone is after Memory, and she suspects it's not just for her eye-catching outfit. Her forgotten past holds dangerous secrets that will challenge everything she believes and risk the lives of everyone she loves.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Born in 1981 to Australian and Maltese parents, Selina lives in Australia with her husband, daughter, and an unnamed cat. During her life Selina has found ancient Roman treasure, survived cancer, had knights joust at her wedding, been mugged for doughnuts, made a living as a visual artist, and shared her imaginary worlds in paintings and now in her novels.

Memory’s Wake is also illustrated, so there’s lots of content bloggers can grab if they want- http://memoryswake.com/the-art/

Author Links:

http://memoryswake.com/
https://twitter.com/selinafenech
https://www.facebook.com/selinafenechart


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Tour Review: Fall of Sky City by S.M. Blooding

Title: Fall of Sky City
Series: Devices of War #1
Author: S.M. Blooding
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Steampunk Fiction
Publisher: Blooding Books
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00CK4Q9PY
Release Date: April 27, 2013
Source: Amazon.com
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: In a world governed by the opposing forces of the mystical House of Tarot and the tribal Great Families, Synn is caught in the crossfire. He witnesses the slaughter of innocent people, and the devastating murder of his father. This act awakens his Mark of power, a Mark greater than any the world has seen in a very long time.

Queen Nix thought she won a great prize when she destroyed Synn’s father, the leader of the strongest Great Families. She had no idea she’d be doubly blessed by capturing his son. However, before Synn can become her treasured weapon, before she can use him to bring the rest of the world to its knees, she must break him and bind his soul to hers.

She does her job with brutal brilliance. Synn’s mind is broken and his soul is seared to hers in an unbreakable bond.

That doesn’t stop him from wanting to be free. She may have broken his mind and claimed his soul, but he will find a way to destroy her.

Experience a world of ships that sail the clouds and cites buried beneath the ocean, and survive the fiery battle brought forth by those who control the forces of nature!

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

SM Blooding lives in Colorado with her pet rock, Rockie, Ms. Bird, the Chicken and SistaPITA. It’s quite the zoo. She’s taken a break from the piano, which Ms, Bird is quite happy about, and now knows more than one word in Arabic. Basically, she can say hello, good-bye, give it to me, and hurry up!

She’s dated vampires, werewolves, sorcerers, weapons smugglers and US Government assassins. Yes. She has stories.

Author Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads


PART OF....

Tour Review: Seal of Surrender by Traci Douglass (Giveaway)

Title: Seal of Surrender
Series: Seven Seals #2
Author: Traci Douglass
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Supernatural Fiction
Elements:
Publisher: Crimson Romance
Format: PDF, 118 Pages
ISBN: 9781440566110
Release Date: May 6, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Bewitching Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s):  Love, like War, will always find a way…

Summary: War has shaped every aspect of Irena Soldan’s life—her childhood, her work, her DNA. Unaware she is the genetic host of the second Seal of the Apocalypse, Irena battles for those who cannot fight for themselves. As a top human-rights operative for The Omega Consortium, her company provides both the financial backing required to undertake her task and a charismatic, publicity-loving boss to promote her cause. Life proceeds on plan for Irena until a mysterious, sexy stranger arrives claiming to be her guardian and Irena’s path takes a sudden, inauspicious turn for both the erotic and the lethal.

Chago has always been the quiet one amongst his warrior Scion brethren—the brooding, Spanish combat expert with a hidden soft side. A member of Divinity’s covert special forces, he’s protected humanity for more than a millennium. Still, his greatest joy comes not from the battlefield, but from tending the cattle herd on his remote Montana ranch.

Irena’s new assignment takes her straight to the heart of a bloody civil conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa and Chago’s mission demands he follow. Expecting a seething cauldron of female whoop-ass, he instead discovers a harbinger of peace amidst a world of ever-increasing violence. The explosively tense situation is further magnified by the cunning Omega Consortium leader, his ambiguous personal agenda, and an ancient foe whose audacious rise to power threatens the world’s very existence.

Despite the cataclysmic circumstances, an undeniable attraction ignites between Chago and Irena. Together, they must unravel the ancient puzzle of the Seals and discover her employer’s ulterior plans before they both become casualties of War. Soon, both are forced to choose between a past riddled with old torments or risk everything they treasure on a love capable of defeating evil incarnate.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Traci is the author of paranormal/urban fantasy and contemporary romances featuring a sly, urban edge, including her current Seven Seals series. Her stories feature sizzling alpha-male heroes full of dark humor, quick wits and major attitudes; smart, independent heroines who always give as good as they get; and scrumptiously evil villains who are—more often than not—bent on world destruction. She enjoys weaving ancient curses and mythology, modern science and old religion, and great dialogue together to build red-hot, sizzling chemistry between her main characters.

Traci is an active member of Romance Writers of America (RWA), Indiana Romance Writers of America (IRWA) and Fantasy, Futuristic & Paranormal Writers (FF&P) and is pursing a Masters of Fine Arts degree in Writing Popular Fiction through Seton Hill University. Her stories have made the final rounds in several RWA chapter contests, including the 2012 Duel on the Delta, the 2012 Molly Awards, and the 2012 Catherine Awards. An earlier draft of Seal of Destiny won the paranormal category of the 2012 Marlene Awards sponsored by the Washington Romance Writers.

Other current projects include upcoming books in the Seven Seals series and a new futuristic suspense series with hints of the paranormal and plenty of romance.

She loves hearing from readers! Connect with Traci here:

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Tour Review: First Light by Samantha Summers (Giveaway)

Title: First Light
Series: Project Five Fifteen #1
Author: Samantha Summers
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Samantha Summers
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B0082ILVT6
Release Date: May 11, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Xpresso Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: A government experiment. Sixteen teenage boys on the run. An innocent young girl caught in the middle. When Ronnie Rose meets the handsome and alluring Kalen Smith, she can tell there's something he's hiding - something dangerous. But in trying to uncover his secret, Ronnie is plunged into a terrifying world she isn't prepared for... and the consequences could be deadly. Can we choose who we fall in love with?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Born in London, an only child with an overactive imagination, Sam spent much of her childhood telling ghost stories to her younger cousins and dreaming about far away places. She graduated university with a BA in marketing, but it wasn't long before her passion for storytelling and travel got the better of her. She currently lives in Sydney, Australia, where you'll probably find her hidden away in the corner of a park somewhere - writing, reading, dreaming or watching movies on her iPad. She loves everything spy and assassin and has a slightly unhealthy obsession with Star Wars, mainly Darth Vader.

Author Links:

Website: http://www.projectfivefifteen.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5835481.Samantha_Summers
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/projectfivefifteen
Twitter: https://twitter.com/5fifteen


GIVEAWAY:

PART OF....

Monday, May 6, 2013

Tour Review: Tristan's Lyceum Wolves by Kym Grosso (Giveaway)

Title: Tristan's Lyceum Wolves
Series: Immortals of New Orleans #3
Author: Kym Grosso
Genre: Erotic Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Werewolves, Vampires
Publisher:
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00C3KCYOU
Release Date: March 28, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Bewitching Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Charismatic and powerful Lyceum Wolves' Alpha, Tristan Livingston, is out for revenge after a devastating attack on his pack. Not only did he survive a building collapse, he orchestrated the rebuild of his chic, state-of-the-art nightclub within a week. Determined to mete out justice, he rescues a beautiful witness who may be the key to helping him find the perpetrators.

Dr. Kalli Williams, dedicated veterinarian, is hiding a secret that endangers not only her own life but the lives of wolves across the country. After being tortured by a savage vampire, she's reluctantly agrees to help the sexy Alpha in his quest to identify suspects; ones who'd kill her on the spot if they knew she existed. As Kalli places herself in the hands of the dominant wolf, she soon finds she wants nothing more than to submit.

Tristan, committed to ruling his pack as a lone wolf, is inexplicably drawn to the mysterious and enticing woman, who seems more than human, but not quite supernatural. As he discovers her secret, he teaches her the meaning of trust, helping her learn how to be true to her nature. After living a lifetime alone, will he succumb to the visceral need to claim her, acknowledging the soul binding connection between an Alpha and his mate? And will he prevail against the menacing enemy who threatens to destroy Lyceum Wolves?

Warning: This book contains several erotic love scenes, including m/f/m menage, and is intended for adult readers only.


Review: 

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Kym Grosso is the author of the erotic paranormal romance series, The Immortals of New Orleans. Both of her novels, Kade's Dark Embrace (Immortals of New Orleans, Book 1) and Luca's Magic Embrace (Immortals of New Orleans, Book 2), are currently available via Amazon, digitally and in print. Tristan's Lyceum Wolves is scheduled for release on April 1, 2013.

In addition to romance, Kym has written and published several articles about autism, and is passionate about autism advocacy. She writes autism articles on PsychologyToday.com and AutismInRealLife.com. She also is a contributing essay author in the new book, Chicken Soup for the Soul: Raising Kids on the Spectrum.


Kym lives with her husband, two children, dog, cat and guinea pig. Her hobbies include autism advocacy, reading, tennis, zumba, traveling and spending time with her husband and children. New Orleans, with its rich culture, history and unique cuisine, is one of her favorite places to visit. Also, she loves traveling just about anywhere that has a beach or snow covered mountains. On any given night, Kym can be found reading her Kindle, which is filled with hundreds of romances.


Author Links:

http://www.facebook.com/KymGrossoBooks 
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5785692.Kym_Grosso 
http://www.AutismInRealLife.com 
@KymGrosso

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tour Review: Playing Hooky by Rita Webb (Giveaway)

Title: Playing Hooky
Series: Paranormal Investigations #1
Author: Rita Webb
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction, Paranormal Romance
Elements:
Publisher:
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00B2D6EEA
Release Date: January 17, 2013
Source: Author {Rita Webb}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Valentine’s Day.

And my 21st birthday.

Whoop-de-doo.

Just another college day full of classes and more homework than is humanly possible.

…until Jason, my best-friend-since-kindergarten, shows up to take me out for the day.

Like old times: the two of us on a wacky adventure, playing hooky from real life. With his lopsided grin and tickets to a circus full of misfits and monsters, he introduces me to a whole new world—one full of magic and mystery—and turns my reality upside down.

Except nothing goes as planned, and we end up running through the city to find a missing siren before someone brews a love potion with her blood.

Sirens and love potions, witches and elves, and Valentine kisses. Nothing will be the same for me again.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Leaving the house to go to school, I had schoolbooks spilling out of one hand, the other holding my place in a Nancy Drew novel, and bunny slippers still on my feet. My mom was a wee bit upset.

I haven't changed much. Still always have a book (or two) in my hand or creating stories in my head, and although I don't have any bunny slippers, I love writing in my jammies and snuggly slipper socks.

When I grow up (maybe a hundred years from now), I'd like to be a superhero, but for now, saving the day, one page at a time, suits me just fine.

With my husband TJ (my own cuddly werewolf), I home-school our three girls, who keep us busy with art, science projects, books to read, dance classes, and walks about the park.

Author Links:

http://afantasyfiction.blogspot.ca/
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2882966.Rita_Webb
https://www.facebook.com/RitaWebb
https://twitter.com/RitaJWebb


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tour Review: Devour by Andrea Heltsley (Giveaway)

Title: Devour
Author: Andrea Heltsley
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Vampires
Publisher: Andrea Heltsley
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00BMQN08U
Release Date: February 27, 2013
Source: Tour Host {SupaGurl Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): He wasn't supposed to remember.

Summary: Callie is a royal vampire. She hunts by taking the blood from her victims and erases their memories afterwards. She goes undetected until a victim named Chase approaches her with all his memories intact. He is intrigued and attracted. She is terrified. What happens when a human mixes with the immortal world? Chaos.

Callie’s 18th birthday has passed and she is coming out at the annual blood ball. Will she find a mate or will she suffer the repercussions of her indiscretion? She is brought to the Vampire council and they must decide what to do with Chase. Do they kill him, or turn him to protect their secret?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

I am a biology nerd who decided it was more fun writing than dissecting. I have written three novels and four more will be out in 2013. I live on coffee and read like a robot. My husband and two italian greyhounds usually have to tear me away from the computer...imagine that. :)










GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Friday, May 3, 2013

Tour Review: Echo by Alicia Wright Brewster (Giveaway)

Title: Echo
Author: Alicia Wright Brewster
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction 
Elements:
Publisher: Dragonfairy Press
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00CIW25W4
Release Date: April 25, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Good Choice Reading Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: The countdown clock reads ten days until the end of the world. The citizens are organized. Everyone's been notified and assigned a duty. The problem is . . . no one knows for sure how it will end.

Energy-hungry Mages are the most likely culprit. They travel toward a single location from every corner of the continent. Fueled by the two suns, each Mage holds the power of an element: air, earth, fire, metal, water, or ether. They harness their powers to draw energy from the most readily available resource: humans.

Ashara has been assigned to the Ethereal task force, made up of human ether manipulators and directed by Loken, a young man with whom she has a complicated past. Loken and Ashara bond over a common goal: to stop the Mages from occupying their home and gaining more energy than they can contain. But soon, they begin to suspect that the future of the world may depend on Ashara's death.


Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author: 

Alicia Wright Brewster is a mild-mannered lady of average height and above average paranormal obsession. By day, she works in an office. At night she is an author, an electronics junkie, and a secret superhero. (Please don't ask what her superpower is; that's not very polite.)

In her virtually non-existent free time, she loves to read, watch movies, and eat food. She is particularly fond of the food-eating and makes a point to perform this task at least three times per day, usually more.

Author Links:

http://www.aliciawb.com
https://www.facebook.com/aliciawrightbrewster
https://twitter.com/aliciawbrewster


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tour Review: Eyes of Ember by Rebecca Ethington (Giveaway)

Title: Eyes of Ember
Series: Imdalind #2
Author: Rebecca Ethington
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements:
Publisher: Impalind Press
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00C7RR28M
Release Date: April 4, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Good Choice Reading Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Joclyn is in hiding, hunted by the man she still desperately loves. Ryland is gone, his mind erased, no memory of Joclyn remains. But, Joclyn’s heart desperately begs her to hold out hope. While, in reality the black eyed monster that possesses him, attempts to kill her over and over.

If it wasn’t for Ilyan, Joclyn would be dead by now.

Ilyan. The man who once stalked her, is now Joclyn’s protector, the only thing she has left. He protects Joclyn from the men who seek to end her life, and while she is haunted by dreams where Ryland begs her to break the bond between them.

Ilyan is there. Always there.

Ilyan trains and prepares her, teaching her everything she needs to know in the hope that one day she can avenge Ryland, if not protect herself from him.

And then there is her father.

The man who has never been there, is suddenly responsible for everything. And who he is has made Joclyn into something she never wanted to be.

The Silnį»³.


Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author: 

Rebecca Ethington has been telling stories since she was small. First, with writing crude scripts, and then in stage with years of theatrical performances. The Imdalind Series is her first stint into the world of literary writing. Rebecca is a mother to two, and wife to her best friend of 14 years. She was born and raised in the mountains of Salt Lake City, and hasn’t found the desire to leave yet. Her days are spent writing, running, and enjoying life with her amazing family. 

Author Links:

www.rebeccaethington.com 
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/rebecca-ethington 
http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B009ZNTLPS 
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6563633.Rebecca_L_Ethington 
@RebEthington

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Thursday, May 2, 2013

#BoutofBooks: Bout of Books 7.0 Read-A-Thon {Sign Up}

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books Read-a-Thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal!

It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.
For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

I've got another long list of books to read. We'll see how it goes this time! :)

Tour Review: The Vanished by Sarah Dalton

Title: The Vanished
Series: Blemished #2
Author: Sarah Dalton
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
Publisher: Sarah Dalton
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00B76P2KO
Release Date: January 27, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Reading Addiction Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): “You’re part of the vanished now. That’s what we all are. The people who have been forgotten.”

Summary: “The Compound bustled with action and anticipation, causing my stomach to do a flip. I stopped in my tracks, realising something, something I hadn't thought of before. We were going to war, and people were going to die.”

The Vanished are the forgotten: those who live beyond law or society. Mina fought for freedom. She fought for a better life – a future. But even a free world can decay.

As Mina begins her new life in the Clans she meets people with surprising knowledge about her power, knowledge that could change everything – even her relationship with Daniel. But as she makes new friends, old friends turn against her in shocking betrayal.

Life in the Compound is tough; there are ways and traditions so strange that Mina begins to suspect foul play at the very heart of her new home. Instead of leaving corruption behind in Area 14, Mina is faced with the rotten core of human nature as a Clan warlord threatens to invade the Compound. The Clans are turning against each other and Mina is stuck in the middle.

The Vanished is the second instalment in the Blemished series and follows Mina’s story as she continues to challenge those in power and seek out new dangers. With even more rebellion, romance and betrayal, The Vanished promises to take the reader on a roller-coaster ride of adventure and emotion.

Will freedom fall?


Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author: 

Sarah grew up in the middle of nowhere in the countryside of Derbyshire and as a result has an over-active imagination. She has been an avid reader for most of her life, taking inspiration from the stories she read as a child, and the novels she devoured as an adult.

Sarah mainly writes speculative fiction for a Young Adult audience and has had pieces of short fiction published in the Medulla Literary Review, PANK magazine, Apex Magazine and the British Fantasy Society publication Dark Horizons. Her short story ‘Vampires Wear Chanel’ is featured in the Wyvern Publication Fangtales. The Blemished is her first full-length novel.

Author Links:

http://sarahdaltonbooks.com/
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sarah-DaltonAuthor/152388908154545
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4720363.Sarah_Dalton
@sarahdalton


PART OF....

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Tour Review: A Different Blue by Amy Harmon (Giveaway)

Title: A Different Blue
Author: Amy Harmon
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher:
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00C2GEJT8
Release Date: March 27, 2013
Source: Tour Host {SupaGurl Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Blue Echohawk doesn't know who she is. She doesn't know her real name or when she was born. Abandoned at two and raised by a drifter, she didn't attend school until she was ten years old. At nineteen, when most kids her age are attending college or moving on with life, she is just a senior in high school. With no mother, no father, no faith, and no future, Blue Echohawk is a difficult student, to say the least. Tough, hard and overtly sexy, she is the complete opposite of the young British teacher who decides he is up for the challenge, and takes the troublemaker under his wing.

This is the story of a nobody who becomes somebody. It is the story of an unlikely friendship, where hope fosters healing and redemption becomes love. But falling in love can be hard when you don't know who you are. Falling in love with someone who knows exactly who they are and exactly why they can't love you back might be impossible.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Amy Harmon knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, so she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Amy Harmon has been a motivational speaker, a grade school teacher, a junior high teacher, a home school mom, and a member of the Grammy Award winning Saints Unified Voices Choir, directed by Gladys Knight. She released a Christian Blues CD in 2007 called "What I Know" - also available on Amazon and wherever digital music is sold. She lives in the middle of nowhere with her husband and four kids, and doesn't plan to ever move somewhere, because nowhere is sublime. She has written Running Barefoot, and the Young Adult books Slow Dance in Purgatory and the sequel, Prom Night in Purgatory. A Different Blue is her fourth novel.

Author Links:

https://www.facebook.com/authoramyharmon
http://www.authoramyharmon.com/
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5829056.Amy_Harmon


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Challenge Review: With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

Title: With All My Soul
Series: Soul Screamers #7
Author: Rachel Vincent
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Bean sidhes, Reapers, Demons, Psychic Abilities, Necromancers
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Format: Paperback, 377 Pages
ISBN: 9780373210664
Release Date: March 26, 2013
Source: Borrowed from Wentworth Library
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): What does it mean when your school is voted the most dangerous in America? It's time to kick some hellion butt...

Summary: After not really surviving her junior year (does "undead" count as survival?), Kaylee Cavanaugh has vowed to take back her school from the hellions causing all the trouble. She's going to find a way to turn the incarnations of Avarice, Envy and Vanity against one another in order to protect her friends and finish this war, once and forever.

But then she meets Wrath and understands that she's closer to the edge than she's ever been. And when one more person close to her is taken, Kaylee realizes she can't save everyone she loves without risking everything she has....


Review: 

I'm so incredibly sad that the series is over! This final book in the Soul Screamers series pack quite a punch, emotionally and mentally. Kaylee is truly amazing in With All My Soul. Her sacrifice was so selfless, it just stunned me. The love between Tod and Kaylee left me emotionally wrecked. It was so beautiful in its pureness and depth. And as we learn in With All My Soul, their connection is a lot deeper than it ever was. Their love for each other is what saves them both in the end. There were a few very powerful moments for the other characters too. Nash realizes just how much Tod loves him and what he gave up so that Nash could live. And Sabine shows that she really does care about everyone in their group, more than they ever thought. 

Now this is probably wishful thinking, but I think it would be incredibly awesome if there were a spinoff series written that explored more of the afterlife, maybe from Tod's POV or another reaper or something. Because there is one loose end that wasn't tied in With All My Soul. As far as I know, Thane is still out there.

About this Author:

A resident of San Antonio, Rachel Vincent has a BA in English and an overactive imagination, and consistently finds the latter to be more practical. She shares her workspace with two black cats (Kaci and Nyx) and her # 1 fan. Rachel is older than she looks-seriously-and younger than she feels, but remains convinced that for every day she spends writing, one more day will be added to her lifespan.










PART OF.... 
 

Friday, April 26, 2013

Tour Review: Blood and Snow: The Complete Set by RaShelle Workman (Giveaway)

Title: Blood and Snow: The Complete Set
Series: Blood and Snow #1-12
Author: RaShelle Workman
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction, Fantasy Fiction
Elements: Vampires
Publisher: Polished Pen Press
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00BH6IPEO
Release Date: February 17, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Xpresso Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Every thousand years the Vampire Queen selects a new body, always the fairest in the land, and this time she's chosen Snow White.

Snow isn't an ordinary girl. She doesn't know that yet.

When Snow gets bitten by a Hunter, her life is thrown into a whirlwind of change where instead of worrying about what to eat, she has to fight not to drink the blood of fellow high school students. She becomes a revenant - not quite human, not quite vampire.

With the help of an eccentric old Professor, his seven adoptive sons, and her best friend, Snow learns to control her blood craving. Sort of. She drinks a bloodlust tea, but she'd rather drink from her Hunter.

Or, a human.

She also discovers a whole other realm, one filled with fairies, dragons, and magic. And not only does the Vampire Queen want her, but there's a pendant called the Seal of Gabriel created for Snow by the Vampire Queen's twin sister. And Snow's supposed to use it to restore balance to all magical creatures. Including vampires.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

RaShelle Workman is the bestselling author of the Dead Roses series ("Sleeping Roses" is being translated into Turkish, and will be available in print wherever Turkish books are sold in 2014), the Immortal Essence series, and the Blood and Snow series. She's sold over two hundred thousand copies of her novels worldwide in the past year, including Japan, Canada, and Europe. You can find RaShelle all over the web, but the best place to start is on her blog: www.rashelleworkman.com.

Author Links: Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter








GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Tour Review: Fender Bender Blues by Niecey Roy (Giveaway)

Title: Fender Bender Blues
Author: Niecey Roy
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00B5L71YQ
Release Date: January 24, 2013
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): Her life took a wrong turn. He's driven by success. They didn't count on crashing into love...

Summary: Rachel Bennett loved her job until the day she finds herself doubting her choices. Now she's hunting for a new career, but starting over isn't easy. Her plan is simple --no distractions until she finds her dream job. She didn't plan on fate throwing her a curveball in the form of a fender bender with a sexy guy in an expensive suit.

Craig Larsen is a wealthy, successful business owner with a plan of his own: survive his current PR nightmare and stay away from his overly determined ex-girlfriend. His need for control and personal success is turned upside down when he meets Rach, a sassy redhead who can't drive.

Soon they find themselves battling with Rach's grumpy old neighbor, toilet-papering the trees of a high-school nemesis, and fighting over the last slice of pizza. Can two very different people plus one fender bender equal a chance at forever?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

I became a writer at a young age, but my moment of enlightenment came after watching the movie You’ve Got Mail.  It was then that I realized my place in life and I happily parked my butt on romance.  My dream was to create sexy vixens, hunky, half naked heroes, and above all, romance; lots and lots of butterflies in the belly, breathless first kisses and happily-ever-afters. 

So here I am pounding my tired little fingers away on a keyboard in a cluttered office with nothing but black pepper flavored sunflower seeds and Visine as my weapons for mass-romance-novel-creation. When my fingers need a break, you will find me at a table with friends, drinking a few martinis and showing off a new pair of heels. I am usually the loudest at the table and most often snorting with laughter.

Another passion of mine is cooking. Because I love everything about food—cooking it, smelling it, eating it—I always incorporate food into my writing.  I can't help it, I kind of have a one-track mind.  It’s the product of growing up with a Polish grandma who spent most of her time in the kitchen singing her face off while cooking everything with butter, and having a Filipino mother, who loves to feed me and always makes my favorite Asain dishes in abundance.  Talk about cultural diversity!

My husband is my muse, he just doesn’t know it.  Much of the humor in my books can be attributed to him, and I constantly find myself rushing to my office or the nearest scrap of paper to jot down something he’s said.  We have a good thing going—I never tell him how to restore his cars, and he never complains about my shoe obsession.  We are blessed with three beautiful kids who keep us grounded and on our toes at all times.

During the summer you will almost always find me lying out in the hot Nebraska sun at my parents' place, Tin Man Airboats, where the river is their backyard. There, I can kick back with my loud, obnoxious family around a campfire with a couple of beers.  Family is very important to me.  My sisters are my best friends and have always been my biggest cheerleaders.  I am grateful for their love and support and consider myself very lucky to have them in my life.

Author Links: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter |


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Tour Review: A Tiger's Claim by Lia Davis (Giveaway)

Title: A Tiger's Claim
Series: Ashwood Falls #1
Author: Lia Davis
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Shapeshifters
Publisher: Fated Desires Publishing
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00BVE1BT8
Release Date: March 16, 2013
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: As the Alpha’s only daughter Shayna Andrews has always been treated like a rare gem, protected like royalty, and she’s suffocating.  Her longing to be independent has driven her to sneak out one evening after dinner. After relishing in being able to run free without an escort, she finds herself face-to-face with the enemy, miles from home, and nearly loses her life until a lone wolf comes to her aid.

Travis Hunter’s main objective is to destroy the Onyx Pack—a group of drug using, murdering rogue shifters. His seek-and-destroy plans are put on hold when he rescues a female from a brutal attack. The beautifully exotic tiger shifter, Shayna, stirs a passion he thought died with his long-lost mate.

When Shay’s first heat cycle slams into her, Travis has no choice but to submit to her needs—and his own. But there is always a price to sleeping with the Pack princess. Not only will they have to face her Pack, Shay and Travis will have to deal with a mating that is beyond a single night and could have consequences more than either of them had thought. And when Travis finds out Shay wears the enemy’s brand, things will go from bad to worse.

Warning: One alpha female who doesn't take no for an answer, a wolf with more on the line than just his heart, and a combustible attraction that's sure to cause more than one sweaty night.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Lia Davis is a mother to two young adults and two very special kitties, a wife to her soul mate, a paranormal romance author, graphic designer, and co-owner to Fated Desires Publishing, LLC. She and her family live in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very humid summers. But it’s her home and she loves it!

An accounting major, Lia has always been a dreamer with a very activity imagination. The wheels in her head never stop. She ventured into the world of writing and publishing in 2008 and loves it more than she imagined. Writing and designing are stress relievers that allow her to go off in her corner of the house and enter into another world that she created, leaving real life where it belongs.

Her favorite things are spending time with family, traveling, reading, writing, chocolate, coffee, nature and hanging out with her kitties.

Author Links: Facebook | Website | Twitter: @novelsbylia | Goodreads |


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tour Review: Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis (Giveaway)

Title: Ignite
Series: Midnight Fire #1
Author: Kaitlyn Davis
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Vampires
Publisher: Kaitlyn Davis
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B005U8GQT6
Release Date: October 9, 2011
Source: Tour Host {Bewitching Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: "With one last look, one final search of the lines of his face for some sign, Kira turned and ran away from the sound of the man she loved laughing in the face of her death."

When Kira Dawson moves to South Carolina, she meets Luke, a blond goofball who quickly becomes her best friend, and Tristan, a mysterious bad boy who sends shivers down her spine. Kira knows they're keeping secrets, but when she discovers Tristan's lust for blood and her own dormant mystical powers, Kira is forced to fight for her life and make the heartbreaking decision between the familiar comfort of friendship and the fiery passion of love.

Short Review (full review to come):

I thought that this was an interesting take on vampires. And Kira's power was really cool. I also really liked the dynamic between Luke, Kira, and Tristan. I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.

About this Author:

Kaitlyn Davis graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a cockapoo puppy of her own.

Author Links:

http://kaitlyndavisbooks.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/KaitlynDavisBooks
https://twitter.com/DavisKaitlyn
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5276341.Kaitlyn_Davis
http://pinterest.com/kdavisbooks/


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tour Review: Virgin Under Ground by Kate Richards

Title: Virgin Under Ground
Series: 1Night Stand
Author: Kate Richards
Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00B1YWYL2
Release Date: January 16, 2013
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Doctorate in hand, Jane Ann Summers is ready to return to the South Seas paradise of her youth, when the director of the institute—her mother—drops a bomb. She cannot return until she experiences more of life...a social life

Determined to waste no time, Jane searches for a shortcut and discovers the 1Night Stand dating service. A single night with a Dr. Gerard, geologist…and she can go home and get on with her fascinating study of world weather trends. The only question is whether to have sex with him…after all, it would be her first and maybe only time.

Dr. Lukas Gerard’s own field of study has shown him some alarming trends. He believes a killer earthquake may rattle the Western half of the United States in the near future. In preparation, he has converted an abandoned gold mine to a secret bunker, loaded with supplies and all the comforts of home. Only thing he needs is company in his hideaway. Unsure how to find the right companion, he turns to 1Night Stand, but neither he nor Jane are prepared for the sudden impact of one of Madame Eve’s connections.

Maybe there is more to life than science…for both of them.

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

Kate Richards lives with her wonderful husband and menagerie of adopted pets in sunny SoCal. She loves the beach, the High Sierra, where she has a very tiny cabin, and spending her days making sure all of her characters—eventually—get to have a happily ever after.

Website/Blog | Facebook
| Twitter @katerichards09 |


PART OF....

Monday, April 22, 2013

Tour Review: Hidden Depths by Aubrianna Hunter (Giveaway)

Title: Hidden Depths
Series: Hidden #1
Author: Aubrianna Hunter
Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Writer's Edge Publishing
Format: Kindle Edition
ASIN: B00B09852A
Release Date: January 11, 2013
Source: Tour Host {Bewitching Book Tours}
Rating: /5

Purchase Here: Kindle

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: She is pierced, dyed and tattooed born on the wrong side of the tracks. He is a traditional white knight born of the proverbial silver spoon. Their meeting was an accident, the fact that they became even the most tentative of friends, an anomaly. The only real thing they had in common... chemistry. Lots of chemistry. Unfortunately, that wasn't enough and Gia knew it. Now, if only she could convince her body...

Josh had always walked the line, lived the life he was expected to live. He had, by all accounts, the perfect life; a corporate lawyer, a beautiful home, a family empire to run, and the perfect fiancee. He was well on his way. The only question he had... was that really where he wanted to go? Plagued by dreams, Josh fought all his natural instincts, denying not only what he truly wanted but who he was deep down inside. Until one crazy night when he gave in to his desires...

Could these two polar opposites have more in common than even they realize?

Review:

REVIEW WILL BE POSTED AFTER 12PM.

About this Author:

I am often asked; who is Aubrianna Hunter? And the truth is the answer isn't a simple one. Beyond being a dedicated wife and mother, I was raised by a Marine, and married into the Navy.

Needless to say I can go toe to toe with the most sarcastic people you have met, and can dish insults and curse with the best of them. I blurt wildly inappropriate things at precisely the moment when the room goes quiet, so much so that my co-author has nicknamed me Ted... Yes... After the bear in the movie.

Recently my husband has replaced calling me crazy with calling me "Creative", but the tone he uses to do it makes me question his sincerity. Though honestly, crazy is probably closer to reality. I like my hectic life, in fact I thrive in the chaos and would have it no other way.

Author Links:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....