Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Tour Review: Phantom by Laura DeLuca (Giveaway)


Title: Phantom
Author: Laura DeLuca
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Pagan Writers Press
Format: PDF, 262 Pages 
ASIN: B007Q3W7XC
Release Date: March 29, 2012
Source: Tour Host {YA Novel Reader Book Tours} 
Rating:

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: The “Phantom” was a musical phenomenon that Rebecca had always found enchanting. She had no idea that her life was about to mirror the play that was her obsession. When her high school drama club chooses “Phantom” as their annual production, Rebecca finds herself in the middle of an unlikely love triangle and the target of a sadistic stalker who uses the lines from the play as their calling card.

Rebecca lands the lead role of Christine, the opera diva, and like her character, she is torn between her two co-stars—Tom the surfer and basketball star who plays the lovable hero, and Justyn, the strangely appealing Goth who is more than realistic in the role of the tortured artist.

Almost immediately after casting, strange things start to happen both on and off the stage. Curtains fall. Mirrors are shattered. People are hurt in true phantom style. They all seem like accidents until Rebecca receives notes and phone calls that hint at something more sinister. Is Justyn bringing to life the twisted character of the phantom? Or in real life are the roles of the hero and the villain reversed? Rebecca doesn’t know who to trust, but she knows she’s running out of time as she gets closer and closer to opening night. Only when the mask is stripped away, will the twenty first century phantom finally be revealed.


Short Review (full review to come):

The Phantom of the Opera is one of my favorite musical/plays ever. In my middle school choir we even sang a 10 minute song from the musical, and let me tell you, Christine's soprano part is very difficult. But back to the review. I love reading book based off of a previous story that I loved. That is no different with Phantom. It's awesome to read other people's take on a classic story. This book should definitely be given a shot by those who feel the same.

About this Author:

Laura "Luna" DeLuca lives at the beautiful Jersey shore with her husband and three children. She has been writing stories for as long as she can remember. Old high school friends would tell you she was always scratching in her notebook instead of paying attention in class and the children she used to babysit for always loved to hear her scary stories at bedtime. In addition to writing fiction, Laura is also the sole author of a popular review blog called New Age Mama. She is an active member of her local pagan community, and has been studying Wicca for close to eight years. 

Author Links:

http://authorlauradeluca.blogspot.com
www.facebook.com/authorlauradeluca
www.twitter.com/authorldeluca
http://www.goodreads.com/authorlauradeluca

GIVEAWAY: 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Tour Review: Moonlight and Oranges by Elise Stephens (Giveaway)


Title: Moonlight and Oranges
Author: Elise Stephens
Genre: New Adult Fiction
Publisher: Booktrope
Format: PDF, 130 Pages 
ASIN: B0065U78MC
Release Date: November 1, 2011
Source: Publicist {Sophie Weeks} 
Rating:

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Lorona Connelly is ready for a change from her carefully planned, bookish life. When sparks fly at a costume party, she embraces a chance for romance with the handsome Kestrin Feather. However, she quickly realizes that even love and destiny may not be enough to overcome the reality of an overprotective mother-in-law and Kestrin's long, tarnished history of relationships.

When Lorona's curiosity leads her to Kestrin's journal, doubt plagues them both with insecurities and threatens the relationship. Can true love overcome the odds, or was their whirlwind romance just a frivolous crush? Author Elise Stephens shares a journey of young love, fate, and wounded trust in the story of Lorona and Kestrin, a couple who must learn to overcome their fears to share a life together.


Short Review: 

I loved Moonlight and Oranges! As I was reading I had a feeling that the story was based off of something, and I was right when I read the author's note in the back of the book. Moonlight and Oranges is based off of the story of Cupid and Psyche. I don't know the story of Cupid and Psyche that well, but I do know that the story does involve a meddling mother who tries to keep the lovers apart. And in Moonlight and Oranges, Kestrin's mother is scary in her efforts of keep Kestrin and Lorona apart. 


I'm a huge fan of mythology and folklore, so I was really happy that Moonlight and Oranges had Greek mythology and Mexican folklore.


About this Author: 

Elise Stephens received the Eugene Van Buren Prize for Fiction from the University of Washington in 2007, where she also received her degree in Creative Writing. Moonlight and Oranges is her first novel and was a quarter-finalist for the 2011 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

She lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband where they both enjoy swing dancing, eating tiramisu, and savoring the flavor of local live theater.


Author Links: Website // Twitter // Goodreads


GIVEAWAY: 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
PART OF....

Monday, October 29, 2012

Tour Review: Resisting Velocity by Trinity Evans and Xoe Xanders


Title: Resisting Velocity
Series: High Velocity #1
Author(s): Trinity Evans, Xoe Xanders
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Elements: Werewolves
Publisher: Elysium Fields, LLC
Format: PDF, 116 Pages
ASIN: B009DB2VOU
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Bewitching Book Tours} 
Rating: 4/5

Tagline(s): ~NONE~
 
Summary: As frontman of up-and-coming rock band, High Velocity, werewolf Zane Alexander has everything a man could want: Fame, fortune, friendship, and a pack to call home. Well, almost everything. Despite being able to take his pick of pretty much any woman, he wants the one girl he can’t have—the one girl who’s eluded his every advance.

Charlie Banks has always had a thing for Zane, but being the band’s head of security, she knows firsthand just the sort of guy he is. She’s determined not to become just another notch on his bedpost, but if doesn’t stop the want for a mate curling in her gut. It’ll happen, someday—it just won’t be Zane. She’s decided that it’s time to leave High Velocity, to find a nice little home and settle down to live the rest of her life, away from sexy smiles and ripped bodies of rock stars.

But when someone threatens Zane’s life, she’s the only one he wants to protect him. Except, Zane has a hidden agenda. One that involves claiming Charlie as his mate, once and for all.

Short Review:

I don't usually read a lot of books with rock band or musicians. There has to be something other than the music and band that pulls me in. So when I read that the members of High Velocity were werewolves, I was intrigued. Add in a crazed stalker and the story is golden. I mean, what's a rock band without some crazy fan stalking them? But  it quickly turns deadly as gun shots ring out. I also really liked the tug-of-war on the heartstrings between Zane and Charlie. Resisting Velocity definitely kept my heart pounding, in more ways than one.

EXCERPT:

Breathing in short, sharp breaths, Zane followed her through the winding corridors of the Richter Stadium, past the women’s bathrooms and down a flight of stairs. He held his breath for a moment as he slid through the remaining security crew. His golden eyes zeroed in on the whipcord lean beauty, a few dark curls coiling down from the sensible bun she always wore it in.  

She stopped, hesitating right outside the doors. Two more steps and he’d lose her to the nightlife, his identity keeping him from following her any farther. If fans saw him, his life would become a hurricane of screams and groping hands. He wasn’t in the mood to put on his usual charming-playboy air to deal with them and he knew that going furry on their asses would damage his career.

Now or never. As she stepped out, he lurched forward, his pulse pounding furiously at his throat, and he crossed the floor in three strides. His fingers curled around her shoulders, firm and commanding, though he knew she hated it when he pulled the alpha role. She spun and her lips formed a thin line, as if she’d been expecting this. She’d known. You couldn’t really lie to pack and get away with it.

“Charlie.” The one word was all he could say before her eyes pinned him. They were pale as a sheet of blue ice, staring up at him with a gentle ferocity that she’d only ever reserved for him. He had no doubts that she wanted him—he’d smelled it on her in the past, saw the way she looked at him sometimes, as if she was seeing through to his soul—but she was wary. Guarded. The walls around her heart were made of marble and he was left pounding both fists against the cool stone. 

“You can’t leave.” His words were a statement. A fact. 

“I can and I am,” she replied coolly. 

“What about the guys? What about High Velocity? You’re just going to throw it all away?” He was surprised at the intensity behind his words, but he was far from done. “Are we not paying you enough? There’s always ways around that. How much will it take?”

She blew out a harsh expel of air and glanced down at his hand clamped around her arm, but she didn’t bother to pull away. Her winter gaze met his molten gold once more. “I’ve made my decision, Zane. You need to respect it. There comes a time in everyone’s career where they have to make a choice and take a stand. This is it. I’ve put in my notice, I’ve followed protocol. There shouldn’t be a problem.”

A growl slid up his throat, escaping with a rumble. “I don’t give a damn about protocol. You could flash your tits to the crowd if you wanted and we still wouldn’t fire you. I don’t care. You’re part of our group. And, like it or not, you’re part of the pack. My pack.”

“You and I both know that I’ve never really been part of the pack.” Her voice carried a touch of wistfulness. She was right—she’d always been a bit of a loner, keeping herself estranged from the members of Elysium, try as his parents might to welcome her in. But she’d never been distant with Zane and the guys and he wasn’t about to let that happen. Not now. 

“You’re staying.” 

She lifted a brow. “Since when are you my master?”

“Since you started talking crazy shit about leaving us!” He tamped his anger back down. He never had a temper. What was up with him? He took a deep breath, letting it whistle out his nose as he tried to soften his posture, tried to be less demanding. “We need you. Okay? I respect your decision to quit, but you don’t have to skip town and leave us. Just stay.” Please… 

Her smile was tight. She shook her head slowly, like he just didn’t get it, and pulled free of his grasp. “Goodbye, Zane.” 

His mind spun, thoughts bouncing off the walls of his head as he tried to scrape ideas together in a last-minute rush. He needed more time. He needed a damn good reason for her to stay, but damn it, he couldn’t think! She turned around, agonizingly slow, and he could see the muscles in her back through the crispness of her suit.

“Charlie. One last night.” His voice was soft, a plea in the undercurrent that he cursed himself for exposing. She stopped and he moved forward until his chest was pressed against her back, one arm wrapping around her waist. He pulled her against him, her body cupping his perfectly, like it was made for him. 

She stiffened, but he didn’t let her go. His arm snug around her, he rubbed his chin lightly across the back of her neck, letting the stubble scrape gently against her skin. He murmured in her ear, using the sexiest voice he could muster. His beautiful-girl voice. “Go for a run with me. Tonight. One run.” 

He’d figure something out between then and now. He’d get her back.

About these Authors:
Trinity Evans is an upbeat, slightly off-color author with a wild imagination and a taste for the eclectic. Born and raised in a small-town Americana, she loves the lighter and fluffier side of life with some paranormal spice thrown in. She definitely enjoys the more comical side of relationships. She adores hearing from fans and you can find her at trinityevans.wordpress.com.

Xoe Xanders is a quirky small-town punk princess whose ideas range from dark and dangerous to light and fluffy. She enjoys writing in the vein of paranormal, fantasy, and soft sci-fi, all of it with a romantic edge. She believes that love is love—no matter what gender, race, or color—and writes both straight and LBGT romance. Wanna stalk her? You can find her site at xoexanders.wordpress.com

Trinity Evans Web/Blog: http://trinityevans.wordpress.com/
Xoe Xanders Web/Blog: http://xoexanders.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @xoexanders


PART OF.... 

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Sweet Evil Read Along Week 4: Halloween


Halloween 

My brother and I never really celebrated Halloween. My dad doesn't believe in it and we were never really allowed to go Trick or Treating. When we were little, we would go to our grandmother's house, though, and help hand out candy to those who were going out.

But when I started middle school, there were a few times when we were allowed to go Trick or Treating, and I'd also go to Halloween parties my friends hosted. There was also a HUGE bonfire at Harmon Park that we would go to and hang out. And trust me when I say that going to a bonfire wearing a 1950's-style skirt is VERY COLD! I had to wear a coat, which totally covered up my costume.

There are 4 costumes I can remember wearing: the scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz, a saloon-style scarlet dress, a witch, and the 1950's-style outfit.

Though my brother and I rarely participated in Halloween, when we did it was a blast! One thing people are surprised about is that I've never gone to a haunted house. I hope to go to one sometime eventually.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!


Sweet Evil Week 4 Reading

I'm not going to write a full review until I've finished the book at the end of the Read Along, but each week I'll share a snippet from one of my favorite scenes and a favorite quote.

**WATCH OUT FOR MY REVIEW IN THE NEXT COUPLE DAYS**

Anna and Kaidan's Connection Broken (Pages 441-442):

My father continued to shove me from behind, up the narrow stairs and down the darkened hall, shoulder-to-shoulder with other Neph. I kept turning, trying to peer around my dad's solid body, frantic for a glimpse of Kai.

And there he was, also attempting to push through the people. I reached my arm back, feeling my dad's hands firm around my waist. Kaidan's warm fingers locked around mine, and our gazes held. In those blue eyes was a shattered look that made my soul ache.

"Enough!" my father scolded gruffly, pulling me and breaking my connection to Kai. I screamed out. We burst into the frozen night, where my father hailed a waiting cab, opening the door and flinging me inside. He gave directions to the cabdriver.

"Straight to the hotel," my dad said to me, throwing cash on my lap. "I'll deal with you later."

He slammed the door shut.

"What's going  on at that club?" the cabbie asked as he laid on the gas pedal. "There a fire in there or something?"

I couldn't answer. I spun around in the seat, staring at Kaidan on the edge of the sidewalk, hands on his head, air condensing like smoke from his lips, watching me leave.

A Couple Favorite Quotes (Pages 404 & 439):

"I watched you tonight, Anna. You enjoyed yourself, didn't you? You loved the attention of that bartender and the eyes of the men on you while you danced for them. Admit it. You loved it."

***

"It is not her time. She will serve as a test to many souls."

Friday, October 26, 2012

Tour Review: Awaken by Sarah M. Ross (Giveaway)


Title: Awaken
Series: Patronus #1
Author: Sarah M. Ross
Genre: New Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements:
Publisher:
Sarah M. Ross
Format: PDF, 103 Pages
ASIN: B008GWEQ9U
Release Date: January 27, 2012
Source: Author {Sarah M. Ross} 
Rating:

Tagline(s): Her death was only the beginning.

Summary: Lucy Donovan was supposed to have a weekend of fun in the sun, celebrating her upcoming graduation from college. In a split second, everything changed. A drunk driver ended Lucy’s mortal life.

Lucy opens her eyes to a world she never imagined possible and a new destiny: as a Patronus, a guardian of spirits. Adjusting to her new role and abilities while negotiating this confusing realm will test her limits and push her further than she ever dreamed she would go. From wayward spirits who don’t want her help to soul stealing vampires, and even a stuck-up British royal, Lucy must brave them all to save one spirit she can’t bear to lose.

Further complicating her life is an inexplicable yet growing connection she feels to a member of her team, Max, whose mysterious behavior leaves her both confused and intrigued.

Waking up dead was just the beginning of her problems. Lucy’s death is about to become the greatest adventure of her life.


Goodreads Link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13416711-awaken


Review:


I thought that the main concept of Awaken was really interesting. Most of the books is about Lucy learning about her new life as a Patronus and training for her first big mission. And I really liked the twist about who Lucy and Max really are. That was quite surprising, not something I was expecting. The cliffhanger at the end of the book has left me wanting to read Avenge right away. 

About this Author:

 
I started my obsession with reading at an early age, getting in trouble for sneaking BabySitter Club and Nancy Drew books into math class in elementary school. I would read any fiction book I could get my hands on. I knew it was an addiction when instead of grounding me from TV or music, my mom would take away my books as punishment (The Horror!). My love of all things paranormal was inspired by my good friend Laurie, who convinced me that books with vampires, witches, and all things shifter were amazing. After a little reluctance, I gave it a shot with the Sookie Stackhouse books, realized she was right, and the rest was history.

I grew up in Pittsburgh, graduated from The University of Pittsburgh with my degree in English, and taught 8th graders to love reading as much as I do for several years. I will always be a proud member of the Steelers Nation, but I couldn’t take the cold and moved my frozen tush to Florida where I now live with my family and two cats. You will find me now with my trusty Kindle in hand and toes in the sand!


Social Media links: 

Website: www.sarahmross.com
Email- sarah@sarahmross.com
Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/SarahtheAuthor
FB- http://www.facebook.com/SarahtheAuthor

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Tour Review: The Messenger by Pamela DuMond (Giveaway)


Title: The Messenger
Original Title: The Messenger's Handbook
Series: Mortal Beloved #1
Author: Pamela DuMond
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction
Publisher:
Pamela DuMond
Format: PDF, 313 Pages
Release Date: April 10, 2012
Source: Author {Pamela DuMond} 
Rating:

Tagline(s): Infinity. Life. Death. Rebirth.

Summary: Some souls are meant to be together, but pursuing true love can be dangerous and often deadly. When sixteen-year-old Madeline falls in love with Samuel, a boy who lives hundreds of years before she is even born, she will risk her very existence to be with him.

Madeline’s from present day Chicago when she is pushed onto the train tracks, and accidentally time travels to a bloody war between the Natives and the colonists. She falls in love with a Native boy, Samuel. But, she’s living in the body of a colonial girl and their romance is a crime that carries harsh punishments.


Madeline discovers that she is meant to be a Messenger, a traveler who if properly trained, can slip through time's fabric at will. The Medicine Woman mentors her. But Madeline doesn't fit in this world. She’s different from the other colonists. Rumors of witchcraft and spying arise. Deadly Hunters, dark-souled predators as well as skilled time travelers, crave Madeline's powers. Can Madeline find the way back to her future? And will that future include her one true love, Samuel?


Review: 

There are two things I like about science fiction. One is time travel, the other is aliens (the hot kind of aliens, not the little green men kind). But The Messenger involves time travel. Madeline is taken all the way back to 1675 Rhode Island during the King Philip War. She learns that she is a Messenger, she's trained by a Medicine Woman, and finds love with a Native boy named Samuel. But there are those that are after her and her power. 


I find time travel stories to be really awesome because of the time travel, but they can also be really sad and heartbreaking, especially if there are two people from different times falling in love and then being separated when one returns to their time. These dynamics are what make science fiction time travel stories, like The Messenger so great. I also really liked the Native legends in The Messenger.


The Messenger is a gripping tale that I really want more of!

About this Author: 

Pamela DuMond is the writer who discovered, pitched and sold the real-life Erin Brockovich story to Hollywood. Erin Brockovich the movie was nominated for four Academy Awards.

In grade school Pamela was an A student but stuttered and was bullied. Reading became her refuge. She devoured every thriller and mystery she could get her hands on and eventually wrote her own. When she was twenty-two years old she finally started talking. Her brother swears she hasn't shut up since.

Pamela writes comedic sexy Cupcakes mysteries: Cupcakes, Lies, and Dead Guys (An Annie Graceland Mystery) was published by Krill Press in 2010. She published Cupcakes, Sales, and Cocktails – A Novella in 2011 and Cupcakes, Pies, and Hot Guys in 2012.

Pamela also writes YA. The Messenger (Mortal Beloved, Book One) is the first in the series of YA romantic time-travel historical thrillers. She was inspired by The Hunger Games books by Suzanne Collins and Last of the Mohicans the movie.

Pamela is also a chiropractor and cranio-sacral therapist. Besides reading, writing, she loves the beach, yoga, movies, animals, her family and friends. She lives in Los Angeles, California, with her furballs and welcomes appropriate questions and feedback from her readers. Feel free to contact her at Pamela.DuMond@gmail.com.

Social Media links:



Twitter: Pamela DuMond  @CupcakesNovel

Links to find/buy the book: 

https://www.createspace.com/3893671





  
GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Tour Review: Dead Perfect by P.G. Shriver


Title: Dead Perfect
Author: P.G. Shriver
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction
Elements: Ghosts
Publisher:
CreateSpace
Format: PDF, 229 Pages
ISBN: 9781469970547
Release Date: February 13, 2012
Source: Tour Host {YA Novel Reader Book Tours} 
Rating: 5/5

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: MEL

My dreams never included falling in love. Graduating top of the class, going far away to college and starting a life in a place where my alcoholic mother could never find me were the top three goals on my list. Then the unexpected accident with Mother, after her regular doses of vodka, altered all of that. With her gone, my life and my perspective changed forever.

I decided to return to life and school. That's where I noticed him, my Adonis, roaming the halls, searching for someone. Was it me? Love at first sight? Really? Cautiously, I reasoned the feeling suddenly spawned as a rebound to recent loneliness, but reasoning didn't matter. Fantasies of him stole my thoughts. He was the hottest guy I had ever seen!

DAVIS

At the last drag race of the summer, where I would finally earn the title "County Champion" and a $3,000 purse to help pay my way through college, my best friend announces his proposal to Joanie. They were getting married, having a baby, and he was ecstatic about it! I was proud to get through high school, girls hungry to catch me, without losing it to any, just as I had planned. I would have time to date girls later, no reason to hurry! The county race outcome changed all of my plans.

Desperate to find Joanie so I could break free, I returned to my old school. The search led me to her, my Aphrodite, a familiar lost look in her soulful eyes. Fantasies of her forced reasoning from my mind. I had to meet her! But once fallen, could our love survive the truth about the final race and all of my ghostly secrets?

Review: 

Dead Perfect is a story about love, forgiveness, and the ability to let go of the past and move on to the future. For Mel, Davis, Donna, Joanie, and Franky, this story began with a car accident, though at different points in time. What happens after this terrible event is heartbreak, guilt, anger, love and ultimately, forgiveness.

I was a little confused in the first half of the book, but that quickly changed when the truth was revealed in the second half. Dead Perfect is emotionally charged and the story just pulls you in. I know that when a book makes me feel something so emotionally strong, like Dead Perfect did, that it is a must read. I was left misty-eyed at the end, and that's a little embarrassing when you're in a library computer lab where everyone can see you crying, LOL! But this is such a beautiful story and I'm glad that I chose to pick it up.

About this Author:

Born in California, and raised in Minnesota and Texas, P.G. spent her early years writing poetry and winning poetry contests, while escaping the drama in her own childhood by reading great books for children. Ever since her earliest days, she loved story telling. She wrote numerous short stories in High School and her early college years, continually trying to relive that first experience at the age of seven of seeing her name in print in the local newspaper.

P.G. sought her education at the University of Texas, where she studied English, literature, and Education. During the entire process of earning her BA and M.Ed, she never stopped writing and trying to be published.  It was during this time that her first children’s book No More Stinkbugs!  was accepted for publication by Castle Keep Press. Many of her stories develop from nature.

P.G. graduated college and began her career in education, another great world that offered real experiences to humor and delight through children’s books. She watched children interact, bringing to surface her own experiences as a child and yet more events to write about. While teaching, she discovered many great books for young people, such as The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963, Maniac Magee, So. B. It and many more. She is a fan of Dean Koontz novels, too, and loves reading fantasy and paranormal books.

P.G. was married 20 years in March 2012 and has a bright, young daughter who has begun her own college career. She lives on a small farm in Texas with her family and animals. P.G. has experienced great love and loss throughout her life. Those her family has lost have dedications in her books.

P.G. has two young adult books published, Dead Perfect and The Gifted Ones: The Fairytale the first book in The Gifted Ones Trilogy. She also has several children’s books written under Gean Penny, her pseudonym.  P. G. has since dissolved her contract for her first book with Castle Keep Press and moved the title to her own imprint, Gean Penny Books.

Author Links:

Twitter

PART OF.... 

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Giveaway Winner: Choice of Book in the Prowl Trilogy


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Congratulations to Samantha A. for winning her choice of one of the book in the Prowl Trilogy!

Be sure to contact me at bibliophilesthoughtsonbooks@hotmail.com with your email and I'll pass it along to the tour host!

Tour Review: Night Music by Margie Church (Giveaway)


Title: Night Music
Series: The Edge
Author: Margie Church
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Format: PDF, 26 Pages
ISBN: 9781613333426
Release Date: August 3, 2012
Source: Tour Host {FMB Book Tours} 
Rating: 3/5

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: A quiet, lakeside vacation is just what Brielle needs to decompress after her busy concert season. She expects the weeks to pass uneventfully. Until she meets the men next door.

Tyler and Zeke are as adventurous and sexy as the Harleys they ride. The passion they hear in Brielle’s music draws them to her.

Convinced the hunks are gay, Brielle lets down her inhibitions. That turns out to be the best decision she’s made in a long time.


Review: 

Brielle is a cellist who goes to her uncle's cabin for some much needed R&R. Tyler and Zeke come roaring by on their Harley's and pull up to the cabin next to hers. Brielle's music draws the two bikers to her porchstep. And soon they're all in bed together.

I really liked the music aspect of Night Music. I used to play the violin, but always wanted to try the cello. I thought that this story could have easily been made into a full length novel. I would have loved to read more about the characters and whatnot. But since this is a novella, we only get a small look.


Excerpt:

Brielle had stopped at the local market to get enough supplies for a few days. She had no intention of going to town unless there was a darn good reason. After her clothing and other belongings were unpacked, she opened a bottle of wine—one of several she’d bought—and contemplated the glorious evening sun.
The rumble of motorcycles disrupted her musings. She craned her neck to see who the offenders were.
Two men on leather-bedecked hogs cruised down the neighboring driveway. She watched from the seclusion of her covered porch as they got off and parked their bikes. Leather chaps covered their jeans. Boots and black leather vests made them look badass. She waited for them to remove their helmets and reveal more of their features.
She wasn’t disappointed.
One of the broad-shouldered men had flaxen hair. The second man ran his hands through his dark hair that reached his shoulders. Even from a distance, she could tell they were in good physical shape, and probably in their late twenties. A twinge of naughtiness plucked her libido. Her vacation was already looking up.
The bike-riding neighbors unpacked their saddlebags and carried their gear into their cabin. The door shut softly behind them and returned the peace and quiet they’d interrupted.
Brielle watched the sun dip lower, streaking the sky with brilliant red, orange, and yellow against the clear blue backdrop. The deep sounds of a motoryacht’s engines mixed with the haunting sounds from the loons.
Inspired, she refilled her wineglass, and then brought her cello to the three-season porch. She moved her bow across the taut strings, warming up, wondering what she should play. She sipped her wine while searching through her extensive music collection. Her hand rested on Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor. Did she dare? Could she play with even half the passion Mei Ju had the other day?
Closing her eyes, Brielle focused on the sounds and sight of Mr. Ju on stage.
Will that ever be me?
She drew her bow back and forth on the strings to play the fiery interludes and soulful chords. Brielle imagined herself in front of the orchestra, the way Ju had been, and did her best to do justice to the piece he’d played so brilliantly.
As she played the last, low note, she noticed the two men standing on their porch, watching her. Heat flared in her cheeks, whether from the exertion of playing or the embarrassment of their witness, she didn’t know.
One man began clapping.
Not expecting that reaction, she chuckled.
“Play something else,” said the man with the long hair.
Thinking they were making fun of her, she closed her music and stood. “Funny guy.”
“No, really, play some more.”
She contemplated the request for a moment. “You’re not going to call the cops?”
The blond one laughed. “Oh, hell no. Come on. Play something hot and sexy.”
Bolstered by their enthusiasm, she wondered what she could play that might fit the bill. “Just a minute.” A number of titles ran through her mind and she dismissed them all. Ah, the perfect one.

About this Author:

Margie Church writes erotic romance novels with a strong suspense element, in keeping with her moniker: Romance with SASS (Suspense Angst Seductive Sizzle). She has a degree in writing and editing and has been a professional writer, editor, and journalist for over 25 years. If you enjoy books you can't put down, read one of hers.

Margie lives in Minnesota, is married, and has two children. Some of her passions are music, flower gardening, biking, walking on moonlit nights, nature, and making people laugh. She also writes children's books under the pen name, Margaret Rose.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Tour Review: Fragile by M. Leighton (Giveaway)


Title: Fragile
Author: M. Leighton
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction
Publisher:
M. Leighton
Format: PDF, 199 Pages
ISBN: 1475158378
Release Date: April, 2012
Source: Author {M. Leighton} 
Rating: 5/5

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: Her heart, as delicate as glass. His love, as strong as steel. Can either survive life and death?

Hardy Bradford is an eighteen year old football phenomenon who has the girl, the school, the town and the future in the palm of his hand. His life is all mapped out for him, right down to who he’ll marry and how he’ll become a professional football player. It doesn't seem to matter that Hardy would’ve chosen a much different life if it was up to him. But it's not. At least not until his Miracle comes along.

The first time Hardy laid eyes on Miracle St. James, he didn’t know who she was, but he knew she was something different and that he’d never get her out of his head. And he didn’t. Now, months later, Hardy’s world is turned upside down when Miracle shows up in his class, stealing his heart and forever changing the course of his life.

Miracle’s sick. Very sick. And Hardy might be losing the only thing in his life that has ever mattered. How much is too much to sacrifice for the one you love? For just a little more time? For just one more chance? Can Hardy be the hero Miracle needs? Or is it Hardy that needs saving?


Short Review: 

I am a HUGE fan of books like Fragile. They are always so beautiful and emotionally charged. I'm always left crying by the end. I loved Fragile!

About this Author:

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it's there. I believe that I'm shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can't be sure because I haven't met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer's too hot, winter's too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

Social Media links:
Twitter: @MLeightonBooks

Links to find/buy book:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1152263.M_Leighton

http://www.amazon.com/Fragile-ebook/dp/B007S6DB2S/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1350833430&sr=1-1&keywords=fragile

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fragile-m-leighton/1109961819?ean=2940014214094


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Obsidian
Series: Lux #1
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatural Fiction, Science Fiction
Elements: Aliens
Publisher: Entangled Teen, Entangled Publishing
Format: Paperback, 361 Pages
ISBN: 9781620610077
Release Date: May 8, 2012
Source: Book Depository
Rating: 5/5

Purchase Here: Kindle // Paperback

Tagline(s): They're not like us...

Summary: Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents , dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring...until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

Your heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.

Review:

Katy Swartz moved to Ketterman, West Virginia from Florida and into the house next door to Dee and Daemon Black. While Dee goes out of her way to become Katy's friend, Daemon couldn't be more rude. He may be hotter than the Sahara Desert, but his personality is colder than Antarctica. After a number of strange happenings, Katy discovers why Daemon acts the way her does, and his secret could very well put Katy in life-threatening danger.

Like Lesa says, "Holy Hawt Chemistry, Batman!" The tension and chemistry between Daemon and Katy is explosive! They may fight constantly, but there is no denying the attraction they feel for each other. Some of the more steamy scenes left me swooning, while their banter had me laughing out loud. I do have to say that I liked that Katy didn't give in to Daemon's "I think" and "I kind of" reasoning for them to be together. That she won't commit to a relationship with someone who isn't 100% certain they want to be with her.

I absolutely loved the lunchroom scene with the spaghetti and Ash. That's definitely a way to deal with a person who's treating you badly for no apparent reason. Katy gained quite the reputation as "The Girl Who Dumped Her Food on Them." What a way to start out at a new school.

Jennifer L. Armentrout has an original take on aliens in the Lux series. The Luxen are made of light and energy, and their planet Lux, which literally means light in Latin, was destroyed by the Arum, Latin for dark. So we actually have a battle between light and dark forces.

The Luxen traveled to Earth when their planet was destroyed and took up residence here. This fact makes the Luxen's view of humans really annoying, because it's like they're the visitors here and have no right to treat humans the way they do. Their behavior just makes them seem ungrateful, although I can see how being hounded by the Department of Defense could make them dislike the human race.

I really admired Katy's strength in the face of the Arum and her determination to protect Dee and Daemon form them. She definitely proved that she wasn't weak or a liability to the Luxen. This does lead to a strange connection between Katy and Daemon, though. I can't wait to see what this connection means for them in the next book.

I always wondered about the hype surrounding Jennifer L. Armentrout and her Lux series. After reading Obsidian, I have been enlightened to the awesomeness that is JLA. I loved Obsidian from the very first page, and was desperate for the next book in the series. So I actually used some of my book savings to buy Onyx. I'm so excited, I can't wait to continue the story.

About this Author:

USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia.

All the rumors you heard about her state aren’t true.

Well, mostly. When she's not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don't Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion).

Jennifer also writes adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn.

Sweet Evil Read Along Week 3: Truth or Dare



TRUTH...or DARE?

To be honest, me and my friends never really played this game much. And when we did we'd always end up pretty bored, pretty fast. Maybe that's because none us really picked DARE that often. Although there wasn't really much for us to do for dares. The coward that I am, I never picked DARE. I'd rather embarrass myself saying something truthful than looking like a fool doing something stupid.

Keeping with my tradition of always picking TRUTH, I'll tell you one embarrassing truth about myself.

**I always get embarrassed while reading romance novels--any kind, but mostly those with explicit sex scenes--because, well, I've never so much as been kissed, and some of those scenes can be really HOT, if you know what I mean.**

Sweet Evil Week 3 Reading

I'm not going to write a full review until I've finished the book at the end of the Read Along, but each week I'll share a snippet from one of my favorite scenes and a favorite quote.

Kopano and Kaidan Talk, While Anna Eavesdrops (Pages 314-315):

"Do not be upset, Kai. I feel only concern for her."

"I'll bet you do."

Kaidan's clipped, harsh response was in direct contrast to Kopano's tranquil words.

"Even you are willing to risk yourself for her, brother."

"That's because I actually know her. What's your reason? I suppose you'd like to get to know her, too?"

"You have made it very clear that she is not available in that way. Be reasonable. There is plainly more at stake here. I only wished to help."

"There's nothing you can do, Kope!"

They got quiet and I could hear Kaidan's ragged breaths through his nose.

"Please trust me, brother," Kopano said. "There is no stronger weapon for Pharzuph to use than your concern for each other. If he learns that you were here to console her, you will lose all leverage with him. Do not fool yourself into thinking he will not discard you."

"Yes, some of us have to worry about such things. Thank you for the reminder."

A Couple Favorite Quotes (Pages 296 & 306):

"Oh, that's right, I nearly forgot," Kaidan said with smooth indifference. "The prince and princess would never stoop so low. Well, bottoms up to us peasants."

***

"Something's brewing. Something big. I don't know what, but the angels are gonna use you. My little soldier girl."

Tour Review: When Copper Suns Fall by KaSonndra Leigh (Guest Post+Giveaway)

Title: When Copper Suns Fall
Series: The Lost Immortals #1
Author: KaSonndra Leight
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatrual Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
Elements: Angels
Publisher: TriGate Press
Format: Kindle Edition
ISBN: 9781479339273
Release Date: September 11, 2012
Source: Tour Host {Reading Addiction Book Tours} 
Rating: 5/5

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: It has been fifty-five years since the angels of the Apocalyptic War attempted to wipe out humanity. Now a new nation has been built where alchemy is forbidden, and angels fear for their lives as they hide among the mortals.

The city’s leaders share one view on the ancestors of angels: shoot first, no questions.

When her twin brother falls into a strange coma, sixteen-year-old Chela Prizeon vows to discover her role among these exiles, the royal angels known as the Lost Immortals.

Chela’s only hope lies with the mysterious, but infuriating leader of a rebel group. But can she trust this boy, someone who can control her dreams and her heart?

Escape into a world filled with celestial creatures, fascinating villainy, high-stake choices, and forbidden romance.


Review: 

When Copper Suns Fall takes place in a world that was destroyed when two groups of angels waged war against each other. 55 years after the Tidal Years, in the year 2067, humans have rebuilt, but the angel-bloods, descendants of the angels, have to hide who they are, because any angel-blood and those associated with them are immediately executed.

Although believed to have been extinct since the end of the war, the Caduceans and the Tainteds still war against each other, and one sixteen-year-old girl, Chela Prizeon, is caught in the middle. What is her role in this battle? And will she be able to realize her true power and strength to save those she loves?

This dystopian tale isn't like the rest I've read. I'm used to zombies, demons, and vampires causing the mayhem, not angels. So I really liked this new take on the end of the world as we know it.

Chela reminded me a lot of Dawn in the Darkness Before Dawn series. She's really quite mature for a sixteen-year-old. I loved how even when something completely terrified her, she faced it head on. Chela has a pretty huge responsibility she needs to shoulder as the Epiclesium, a descendant of the First Order of Seraphim. I also loved how determined Chela was to helping her twin brother, Micah. Her love and devotion are admirable.

This world and Chela's life is built on a mountain of secrets. All of the secrets floating around and half-truths really annoy Chela to no end. She doesn't know who she can really trust. These secrets and revelations are what keep readers on their toes. There will be something hinted at earlier in the book and then the revelation, whether true or not, jumps out at you unexpectedly. These secrets were one of my favorite things about this book. I was kept intrigued and wanting more.

There is quite a bit that happens in When Copper Suns Fall and it would be impossible to talk about them all without giving something away, but one thing I can't leave out is the love triangle. Or maybe I should call it the love/hate triangle. And of course Chela is caught in the middle of this too. Guy #1 is Faris, a Caducean demon slayer and Chela's Protector. Guy #2 is Seth, a Tainted masquerading as a Thoughtmaster. Now this is where the love/hate part comes in. I'm not sure I can say that Seth loves Chela, what they have is a little unclear. But Chela definitely loves Faris and he seems so be returning the love, although he hesitates. I'd definitely pick Faris over Seth, but there is something about Seth that is very intriguing. It'll be interesting to see where this triangle ends up.

With everything that happened in When Copper Suns Fall, all the secrets revealed and the ones still in the shadows, I'm really excited to see what happens next.


About this Author:

KaSonndra Leigh was born in Charlotte, North Carolina. She now lives in the City of Alchemy and Medicine, North Carolina. She likes to write about people doing fantastical things in magical worlds. Her two sons have made her promise to write a boy book next.

She holds the MFA in creative writing, and loves to play CLUE, Monopoly (the Indiana Jones version), and Pandora's Box (good writer's block therapy). She lives in an L-shaped house with a garden dedicated to her grandmother. It has a secret library complete with fairies, Venetian plastered walls, and a desk made out of clear blue glass.

Twitter: @kasonndraleigh

Guest Post by KaSonndra Leigh:

The Indie Author Survival Guide by KaSonndra Leigh

Hello Everyone,

First I want to say a big thanks to my bloggerly host for having such a cool blog and inviting me here today. What you’re doing for indie authors is a great thing. We heart you forever. Big Smile.  Today I want to talk about the journey of the indie author. Mine is kind of just beginning; but I’m still happy to share a few things I’ve learned along the way. Mind you the presentation of these tips is just the result of my experience. It’s not meant to be an actual recipe for success as an independent author. What is working for me, may not necessarily work for the next person and vice versa.

“So how’s the book going?”

That’s one of the most frequent questions I’m asked. It’s also one of the hardest things to summarize in a concrete answer. For an indie author working with a small press, I'd say my sales have been respectable. No, I’m not at the Amanda Hocking or John Locke level, just yet. But I do have a group of fans & readers that are loyal and encouraging. After all, it’s our readers that make us who we are. Oh yeah! And the bloggers. Never forget to mention the bloggers and all of the hard work they do. I’m a part-time blogger so I know how it goes.

In the journey’s early stages, you can measure your road to success on several factors. Or at least, these are some of the indicators I’ve found that many of my indie author friends use to measure the effectiveness of their branding.

1) Traffic increase to your author website:  In the beginning, when I first published kasonndraleigh.com (1/2009), I used to pray for one hit per week. Don’t be laughing at me, now. I’d check every day to see if anyone had visited. My twitter account was the same scenario. I think like four followers would trickle in one week at a time. Today, I get almost 8000 hits/month and counting. My twitter popularity rank is at #300,000 versus #30million like the way it was two years ago.

2) Number & quality of members joining your platform:  Platform differs according to your genre and classification. Non-fiction writers tend to be more inclined to measure that success on public image. But fiction writers are a totally different gang. The way you present yourself to your readers varies and there’s no set indicator for what makes up a good platform in fiction. So we’ll go with the basics. I consider my platform to consist of Twitter, facebook, goodreads, my book blog, and my writing groups. In those I actually meet with live bodies and do readings and critiques in person.

3) Number of people adding your book "to-read" on Goodreads: I have to mention how it was for me in the beginning of this journey again. I was practically begging for friends. But now, I get almost 20 requests per week on GR alone. These people are telling me they've heard good things about my works from their friends. It's a bit overwhelming but very flattering. Thanks everyone.

4) Sales:  Yes, I put this indicator at the bottom of the list for a reason. When you're an indie, it's all about marketing your debut novel during that first year. Find a way to keep your book in front of people during the period where you're working on your second and third books. Or even better, if you can start out with 2-3 books then your readers have instant options right away. Others have found success this way and I do believe it works.

I also notice that the more I promote, the more copies get gobbled up. Being that we indie authors/small presses are in a minority group so to speak, we have to push harder to get our names out there. Some things that are working for me, might not necessarily work for others. But I'm willing to share my tips and help my fellow indie friends out. Participating in blog tours, giveaways, and hops is also another good way to get your books out there before and during your book launch. If you have any more questions about how virtual tours work, I'll be happy to answer them.

5) Fan Clubs.  The last strategy but by no means the least important one. They work…big time. If you have any doubts, then know that a group of die-hard fans started the Twilight group on MySpace. Cassie Clare’s fan club known as Mundie Moms started on twitter before they branched out into their own review site. And the Hush Hush club known as Fallen Archangel friended me on facebook years ago. Now they have people overloading their facebook feed wanting to get in the club.

These are just a few tips. I didn’t go into reviews and speaking engagements. I’d like to save those for part two of this post since they could take up numerous pages alone. I hope that you find these tips and pointers helpful in some way. And I wish you much success in all of your literary journeys.

Yours in Prose,

KaSonndra Leigh

Official Author website:  http://www.kasonndraleigh.com
Twitter:  (I tweet A LOT) http://twitter.com/kasonndraleigh
Lost Immortals Facebook: http://facebook.com/kasonndraleighbooks
Hacienda Moon facebook page: http://facebook.com/kasonndraleighbookspage
Hacienda Moon on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/alestasia/hacienda-moon/
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13038786-hacienda-moon

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

PART OF....

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Tour Review: Rise of the Demons by Willow Cross


Title: Rise of the Demons
Series: Oceans of Red #1
Author: Willow Cross
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Supernatrual Fiction, Dystopian Fiction
Elements:
Publisher: Willow Cross
Format: PDF, 40 Pages 
ASIN: B005E0W3LK
Release Date: July 21, 2011
Source: Tour Host {YA Novel Reader Book Tours} 
Rating:

Tagline(s): ~NONE~

Summary: By 2015 the streets of Los Angeles have been transformed from a thriving metropolis to a hostile world ravaged by demons bent on assimilating the human race. Standing between this total apocalypse of humanity and their chance for survival is 19 year old Remy Martin.

A warrior in her own right, trained to think on her feet and kill if the situation requires, she is flanked by her older brother and younger sister. Together, they devise a plan to take back the streets. Against the wishes of their father, who commands the resistance forces, they venture into unknown realms of the supernatural in a race against time with the fate of the entire world in their young hands.

Join them on their mission into darkness where death lies around every corner, it is virtually impossible to distinguish your enemies from your allies, and a single mistake could result in the annihilation of everyone you’ve ever known and loved.


Review:

Rise of the Demons is a different take on the apocalypse. It isn't a zombie takeover like we're used to, but a demonic takeover. Awesome fight scenes, witty language, and a kick butt heroine. I can't wait for Volume 2!

About this Author:

Willow Cross resides in Arkansas with her husband, two children still young enough to live at home, an enormous cat named Bitsy, and a scaredy-cat dog named Tank. Her home has been known to host the occasional ghost, and a few of her friends profess to be witches. Although she dearly loves Vampires and Werewolves, they are never invited for dinner.

Author Links:

https://www.facebook.com/willowcrossbooks?ref=ts&fref=ts
https://twitter.com/willowcross
http://willowcrossbooks.weebly.com/index.html

Buy Links:

http://www.amazon.com/Oceans-Red-Volume-One-ebook/dp/B005E0W3LK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349555116&sr=8-1&keywords=oceans+of+red+by+willow+cross

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/oceans-of-red-volume-one-willow-cross/1104561993?ean=2940011416491

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/74380

PART OF....